Kilt Him A Bar When He Was Only Three

“Four, 1950’s Davey Crockett Chenille cocktail pick’s. Never used, cute as a bugs ear, with his racoon cap and tail. 3″ tall, Japan sticker on some.”

I got up early today so I amused myself by looking for vintage appetizer picks on eBay. these seem more Beatlesque to me but who can be sure?

………………………

“These glasses would be really nice for your home bar or hunters. There ar 4 Cocktail Glases with a Duck on each and a Rifle Stir Stick. Glasses are 3 1/2″ tall and Rifle Stir Sticks are 5 1/2″. No chips are cracks that I can find. In very good condition!”

They thought of everything here – themed glasses, coordinating stir sticks. I wonder how many of these are out there? It just seems to me that the target consumer of duck hunting themed bar ware is probably not drinking anything that requires a stir stick.

………………………

It’s too early in the day to look at a “Vtg NUDE NAKED LADY BOOBIE BOOB MUG Nipple COFFEE CUP” so we’ll just skip that one. This one is a bit more tasteful, but just a bit:

“Neat set of four liquor decanters from the 1960’s. They are all handpainted and original. Gin, Bourbon, Scotch and Rye. Hard to find a set of four. Each Measure 9″ including top by 3” and weigh 1.6lbs ea. They are marked “4/5 quart” at the base. They are a frosted glass with neat bar painted scenes. No chips, cracks or damage to any piece. They have minor traces of age and use. See photos for exact condition. Neat addition to any collection.”
ooh la la

At the risk of TMI, I can attest based on my own modest research that the image on the gin container  is pretty much the way things end up when you drink the stuff.

Just kidding! That’s not really true. I take my boots off.

………………………

And what’s a martini without a little vermouth? Very little vermouth.

“old Rx martini vermouth dropper in Original vintage box large glass dropper for the home bar collector comes with old fashioned box and original parts looks like it was never used WOW, rare collectors item consigned by southern retired gentleman I would estimate it is 40 or 50 years old or so.”

This has what looks to be a pliable green olive-like bulb on the end that is somewhat reminiscent of an infant mucus syringe or an old toilet float.

………………………

Remember when I was refurbishing my heirloom sewing thing and lamenting the fact that I couldn’t find the right kind of thimble? Here’s one:

“This is kind of neat. It is an oversized thimble inside a velvet lined antique leather case. On top of the case it is faded but says Just a Thimblefull. Inside is the thimble for your shot of whiskey. The case measures approx 2 x 2.25 inches. The oversize thimble is not marked but sure looks like Sterling. Not sure. Nice little item.”

………………………

Well, la di da.

“Here is a fabulous fancy vintage jewel encrusted combination corkscrew, bottle and can opener. The gold tone metal is embellished with multicolored rhinestones. The side is engraved: King with a Crown and Tempered Steel Blade. It has never been used and is still in its original decorative gift box. It measures approx. 5″ long and is in excellent unused condition. Great addition to your barware collection.”

………………………

Believe it or not, there are 7 pages of musical decanters for sale today on eBay. Most of them play  Little Brown Jug or How Dry I Am. I was momentarily distracted by the J.R. Ewing likeness that played the theme song from Dallas but really I’m more fascinated by “The Dancing Scot”:

“This is vintage Gibley’s Spey Royal Scotch Whiskey musical decanter (late 50’s early 60’s) called, “The Dancing Scott”. It features a little scottish man in his kilt. When the music plays he moves and spins, his legs are free standing so it creates an illusion that his legs are dancing. When wound and turned on, the music is an old scottish tune. The song title label from the bottom of the decanter is no longer attached. It’s dimensions are 16 1/4″ tall and the basie is 4″ in diameter. This will make a prized addition to any collection. “

Doesn’t it seem to you that you would only be able see the dancing scottish man in his kilt when the decanter is empty? They must have approved production based on the design without thinking the whole thing through.

………………………

You’d be surprised how many people I’ve come across that have no idea what a church key is. In case you are one of them, here it is:

“Drink Pepsi Church Key I’m not clear on the age of this but the house I got it from was old.”

I love the simplicity of the seller’s description. No details necessary – everybody knows! In fact, they do not. Is it a regional thing? Are these bottle openers known as church keys outside of the northeast? The advent of the twist-off cap made these unnecessary and our children won’t know about them. Sadness.

16 thoughts on “Kilt Him A Bar When He Was Only Three”

  1. They’re church keys in Texas. It’s not a generational thing, either–my son’s bartender friend calls them by that (correct) name, too.

  2. Church keys in NC and NJ.

    My father always said that keeping the vermouth bottle in the same room as the gin was “too much vermouth”. He would just walk it past the liquor cabinet once in a while.

    1. I’ve seen that level of Vermouth Avoidance before. (Pour the gin, hold up the glass, tilt it slightly towards the vermouth bottle – don’t actually touch the vermouth bottle – and drink.)

  3. Church keys in Wyoming and Idaho probably Utah too. I lived in all three states during my growing up years and church key was the way I always heard it. Extra daring in Utah.

  4. Every true Montanan knows what a church key is – and most of them carry one in the glove box as part of the standard emergency kit. Never leave home without it – because you just never know.

  5. I’ve never heard the term “Church Key” before. (I grew up in rural South Dakota.) But then I wasn’t necessarily around the right people, being an introverted nerd who didn’t drink beer.

    That said, I’ve seen more than a few of them. But the people who had them generally just referred to them as bottle openers.

  6. We called them “church keys” in Long Island too.

    I apologize for the lateness of my reply… was just now recovering over the use of an apostrophe in “picks,” in the first advertisement.

Leave a comment