They’re Like A Virus Spreading All Over the Place

One of the hottest blogs on the web today is Michelle Obama’s Mirror’s Blog (Reflections from Michelle Obama’s Full Length Mirror), affectionately known as MOTUS.  I guess they really do have the inside information about what goes on there because they listed the menu from last night’s Ramadan party at the White House:

  • dates
  • kitchen garden green salad
  • spiced Marcona almonds
  • Charlie’s honey vinaigrette
  • organic chicken
  • late summer peas
  • kataifi wafers
  • oranges and lemon sorbet

I asked my husband what the hell a  kataifi wafer was and he started to describe them: “You make a small round pancake and then fill it with a ground nut mixture. Then you fold it in half and press the edges together and it looks like a little half-moon. The you deep fry it.” Did you catch that circle folded over thing? IT’S A POCHETTE! A deep fried, floating-around-in-honey Ramadan pancake pochette.

I wonder if Melissa d'ARAB bian knows about this?

Also, since it’s my job now to straighten everybody out about recipes, it’s qatayef not kataifi. Also, is an organic chicken one that still has it’s gizzard? Or is it stuffed with it’s own liver, chopped?


14 thoughts on “They’re Like A Virus Spreading All Over the Place”

      1. LOL. We saw similar skid marks on the way in to the vet’s office but he did love the snow. The deeper the better. When we finally got him to come inside we had to use a hair dryer to melt him down.

        1. I’ve just discovered your site and am astonished to see the corgi vid my daughter has been forcing us to watch for the past 24 hours. We’re Jack Russell fans but can appreciate any bellyflop into a lake.

  1. Now checking to see if the pochette virus will eat another of my comments… I’m still gonna try to find the cookbook even if the pochettes are after me and trying to stop me!

  2. Blast it all – that last comment was me – but I had logged in to someone else’s site to help out with a problem and WP didn’t remind me to log out! I am not Kenneth… LOL.

  3. I’m originally from an area with many ethnic communties and their diverse, exotic foods. Some I liked, some not so much. But the Middle Eastern mish-mash of lumpy stuff in a bowl was always a mystery of strange concoctions.
    As for the organic chickens, what? they must be those skinny, stringy birds that died of old age, or organ failure.

  4. I, personally, don’t believe in using secret identities. Butt I can tell you that Lady M enjoyed the Melissa d’ARAB bian pochettes at the rama-dama ding dong dinner.

    Great sleuthing Suzette! We’ve simply got to put all these imposters in jail.

Leave a comment