One Month And One Day

That’s how long until we close on our Florida house. And guess what? I’M NOT READY.  Although I’ve been steadily working on getting rid of stuff, there’s approximately one metric butt tonne of stuff left to get through.

Although we won’t be out the door of our NJ house on the same day as we close, there are issues that are giving me sleepless night now:

  • We don’t want to leave either place uninhabited, so one of us will stay in NJ and one of us will go to FL. that is not as bad as it sounds. This is how we started our relationship way back when*. We’ll do the long-distance romance thing again and meet on the weekends.
  • What to do with the dog is problematic while we’re in this temporary situation. It makes sense that he goes with me in the car on the long drive down. He’s my dog more than he is Sami’s, but as luck would have it I’ll be traveling more than usual during the last quarter of this year. Which means he’d have to be kenneled for a good part of the time. He’s not a fan of being kenneled to say the least. Which would be more expensive – to drive back and forth from Fl to NJ 2 times or to pay for a kennel for ~ 40 days out of 90?

There’s more but those are the big things. In related news, I have restrained myself from buying anything more for the new house. Well, restrained myself from buying much for the new house. I confess that I did pick up a tray okay 2 trays and another pineapple lamp.

new

 

I tried not to buy the pineapple lamp for fear of going over-pineapples tried hard I really did! but I believe i am still within the safety zone. Now I’m looking to upgrade that plain finial. It’s not like I don’t have anything else to do. In fact, i have too much to do. Like learn how to operate an elastic drill so that I can put my new office chair together when I first arrive . By the way, have I showed you the home office?

hr

Take a good look because I’m not showing you a picture of my current office, but i’ll describe it for you: piles of folded laundry on the day bed behind me, a laundry basket repurposed as an annex of things that don’t have a home (jewelry box, FedEx box full of tablets, reams of paper still in their wrappers, etc.) , a brown plastic  tall kitchen can pressed into service as a wrapping paper roll holder, a desk covered in post it notes, nail polish bottles and empty water glasses. Now you know why I wont be showing a picture of that. Take a good look at the new office because it might not be too long until I’m describing this one the same way.

Anyway, I’m thinking a gray and white faux zebra area rug on that floor. Yes or no? I think yes.

*I was living in Manhattan and Sami was living in Brooklyn but was working on a long-term project in Virginia. After our first date, we talked every night on the phone for 2 hours, and then every weekend, either he would come back to NY, I would go down to VA or we would meet someplace in between. It was very romantic then – I wonder how it will be now?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “One Month And One Day

  1. I predict it will be less romantic now than it was then, but even now more romantic than everyday life usually is. It’s a romantic adventure. I’m glad to follow it vicariously as my move south is 5 years away.

  2. My husband & I just did this in the last few years, but instead of a dog we had 3 school-aged kids to get settled. Also 2 older daughters had weddings during this time frame, and sadly my dad passed away in between (add another house to empty out and sell). Two bachelor brothers struggling with life-threatening illness in 2 other states…I think we broke the gauge on the stress-o-meter. But we did manage to have romantic reunions, somehow. Things have settled down now. I absolutely don’t miss the stress, but I do miss the furtive and clandestine rendezvous… must rekindle…

Leave a Reply

