Fond Memories

I was raised on Morton’s salt from a cardboard cylinder and McCormick’s black pepper from a red and white can. Occasionally, some garlic salt or dehydrated parsley flakes would show up. My first foray into the world of actual food seasoning as an dependent almost-adult was Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt. I can’t remember how I found out about it – probably some random overheard comment.

Not that I was doing much cooking back then – only  practicing little “dinner parties” for other junior operators in my social circle – so Jane’s was mostly a table seasoning. We had a blissful few weeks together and then I decided to branch out and try Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Pepper, which was a huge disappointment to me and turned me off the brand completely.

It’s been a long time since then, but I remember the salt as the stuff of magic. Do they still make it? I should find it and try it again. 

Update: yes they do still make it!

2 thoughts on “Fond Memories

  1. This brings back memories! In the 70’s we used to have this in the house. At some point, due to high blood pressure, my Mom switched to the salt-free herb mix Mrs. Dash, with the yellow label. My sister and I with our endless teenage fad diets glommed on to it. (What else were you going to add to flavor your low-calorie vegetable soup full of tomatoes and cabbage?) Nobody really liked it. All through the 80’s and well into the 90’s there was a dust-covered Mrs. Dash languishing in the back of the spice cabinet. We never finished one. We’d toss the almost-full container every few years and buy a new one, with the best of intentions. Right now I’m addicted to McCormick’s bourbon & brown sugar seasoning.

  2. For me it was Lawrey’s Seasoned Salt. My best friend would make salad dressing with lemon juice and Lawrey’s – nothing else. It was actually pretty good if you don’t mind the pucker. I still use it from time to time.

    Agree with JuJuBee about Mrs. Dash. I have 2 or 3 of them in my spice cabinet. Each has been used about…once.

Leave a Reply

