Suddenly Summer!

The sun is shining, a light breeze passes through now and then and its 91 degrees. What a perfect beach day at the Jersey Shore.

image

Greetings From Asbury Park

Thank heaven I’m in the comfort of my own home in blissful air conditioning. Frankly, I never did get how anyone could enjoy themselves at the beach knowing that they had what is always an agonal car trip home ahead of them.

As my first act of official Summer 2016, I made a batch of Hot Dog Onions. I developed what I believed was the perfect recipe, but I see now that it needed modification. Here are the changes I made:

  • I made short slices of onion instead of dicing them. Texture is important here.
  • I microwaved the onions in a bit of water, drained them and then sautéed them briefly in 1 tablespoon of oil. This softens the onions without them absorbing too much oil.
  • I reduced the tomato paste to 1 tablespoon and the ketchup to 2 tablespoons. And I actually measured them out instead of eyeballing it.These amounts produce the exact shade of orangy redness without water logging the sauce.

So I have flowers in the deck pots, a half-assembled gazebo and a daughter on the way up from Philadelphia with fancy cocktails in tow. This is all so much better than digging sand out of all your cracks while at a standstill on the Parkway, 10 miles but 2 hours away from home.

One thought on “Suddenly Summer!

Leave a Reply

