Breakfast

The old bird feeder cracked apart.  It was not the victim of cold weather but went yellow and weak in the strong summer sun last season. My fault – I left it hanging three after I emptied it for the season and the sun rays were just too much for it.

So now there’s a bigger feeder hanging that can accommodate more birds, and the seed tray has 2 sections to accommodate different seed types. To celebrate, we sprung for a deluxe sunflower/safflower seed mix to put on one side to keep the lovely cardinals coming to the window.

And the cardinals lost their minds over it.


There are 5 cardinals that come around in constant rotation. The eater will give up the perch for the next one to have a turn. Since the deluxe food showed up, the cycles have been increasingly shorter until this guy just moved in, sat down and refused to give up ground. He sat like that for 20 minutes and didn’t care that I was 2 feet away taking pictures. All in all, the new feeder is much more entertaining so I’m happy the old one went to pieces.

In other news, I’ve taken up needlepoint again. Or I will as soon as my new old stock Bargello pillow kit gets here USPS. I haven’t done this in 20 years and I can’t exactly recall if I ever actually finished a piece but I believe that this is my time now to churn out 8 or 10 pillows which I already have selected from online sources to the tune of about $900.00. No exaggeration – these things aren’t cheap.

That’s why I’m starting with an inexpensive kit from eBay to gauge if I still like it and will actually finish a piece. After a lifetime of throwing myself deeply into things at the start and then abandoning them unfinished,  I actually know myself. And so, I’m about to try something new: moderation.

UPDATE: I would like the record to show that stupid Pinterest has ruined image searches for “seashell needlepoint kits”.  Pinterest and all who inhabit it should have their own internet where they can congregate with each other and not screw things up for the regular people.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Needlepoint Update | Cripes Suzette

  2. Pingback: Needlepoint Update | Write On Point

Leave a Reply

