Consultation

  Situation:

Sometimes okay once I woke up in the middle of the night with itchy armpits. Visual examination confirmed that my armpits are hairless, free of infestation and of normal color and turgor. Then I noticed that the soles of my feet were itchy, too. Then I fell back asleep.

Question:

What could this be?

Note bene:

I will not accept any diagnosis that starts with the word senile to denote that this is benign condition that comes with age. I don’t mind age and I don’t mind aging but I strongly object to use of the word senile anywhere near me. I already have to put up with senile psoriasis of the eyebrows (a very mild case!) and a senile wart on my arm (it’s nothing really!), which is sometimes humorously referred to as the barnacles of old age and that is indignity enough.

One thought on “Consultation

  1. When was the last time you had an A1c? If you are not diabetic, get a cheap/free glucose monitor and strips and check your active blood glucose … itching like you describe can be associated with diabetes.

Leave a Reply

