Father’s Day Baby

Dutch Baby  

or, Still Life with Trash Bags and Easter Placemats

Really, I must start staging my snapshots a bit more thoughtfully. It would be good for you to see some of the other 105 table linens I have instead of realizing that these have been in constant use since the end of March. Also, a normal person would have moved the Hefty Bags out of view even temporarily. And you’d think that a person who was trying to foodbrag would try to include the artfully arranged pinwheel of apricot slices on a bed of whipped cottage cheese that are just out of the sight line here.

Anyway, I made Sami a Dutch Baby for Father’s Day breakfast and it turned out pretty danged good. And here I thought it might not rise high enough in the oven Because I wasn’t using a cast iron skillet. Deflates pretty fast, though. Still, very tasty.

  

Since we’ll have no actual children present today, our plans for the rest of the day include:

  • Watching Columbo on TV
  • Telling each other what specific work items the other one should be doing
  • Telling ourselves we’ll get to them later
  • Napping
  • Identifying a few things to gather up for Goodwill drop off but not actually doing any gathering
  • Complaining about the weather

I could go on but I don’t want anybody to be even more jealous than they already are because of my intriguing and enviable life style.

AFTERNOON UPDATE: oh man. I just realized that I should have titled this post Brunch With Greatness. Lost opportunity.

One thought on “Father’s Day Baby

Leave a Reply

