Bela Lugosi

In case anyone has been wondering how my $25 day lilies are doing after Sami yanked them out of the ground last year, here they are.


Pretty darned vigorous if I must say so myself. The English lavender is doing quite well, too.

Here it is from a different angle, showcasing a tasteful badass plastic rooster that replaces the meek little plastic dove from last year.


I really should have swept the sidewalk or pulled a few weeds before taking this photo, but hey how about that cable box on the side of the garage? This is what we in the blog business call “slice of life, warts and all”.

The rooster was a birthday present from my adolescent children purchased when I led them, along with their father and his wallet, to a fancy garden center. I can’t remember when that was but considering that the rooster has spent at least one season in every flowerbed I have, it’s been here for a while.

Anyway, look at me a real gardener in The Garden State.

6 thoughts on “Bela Lugosi

  1. I tried to grow lavender, but it just wasn’t to be. I had this long bed along the front of the house that would have been perfect. The final attempt I ordered lavender plants three times online through a respectable garden catalog, and each time they showed up dead and dried up. To their credit, the second and third shipments were free and they finally gave up and refunded my money. Local sources never survived long either, so the catalog was my last hope.

    Dang, I love seeing long banks of English lavender growing.

    Love the rooster too.

  2. I’m reasonably certain that you could run a day lily rhizome through a full wash cycle on hot, and then deep fry it and it would still sprout if you planted it.

  3. How do the deer not destroy your day lilies? New Jersey deer must be much nicer than New York deer.

    Deer are eating things here never before munched, even my English lavender. I was told that baby deer will eat anything they find in a harsh winter then grow to repeat eating it even if it’s something adult deer don’t.

    Your garden looks great.

  4. Here in Southern California they are planting daylilies along larger streets and freeway approaches. Presumably that is the signal that they don’t take much water. More pleasant to look at than the river rocks embedded in concrete that have replaced flowering shrubs that probably took too much water and had to be pruned.

    I have always contended that I should fill my garden (now dirt) with Freeway Plants. They can survive almost any condition, any amount of neglect.

    My greatest horticultural success was one little bargain Early Girl tomato (the determinate kind that doesn’t range all over the place), planted in a big plastic pot, nurtured by me. Tomatoes from June through Christmas, the last being 30 green ones that turned the thing into an interesting sort of Christmas tree.

Leave a Reply

