A Lemon’s Progress

And so after a few weeks on the deck, the lemons have doubled in size. Here my lovely assistant holds a quarter for size comparison.

  
Compare this to one month ago and you will be greatly impressed. Reminder: let us not get too attached to these lemon babies because they still swim in perilous seas.

  • The upper most leaf on the left side is suffering from the dreaded tater leaf, a bad thing.
  • The lemon on the right side has the faintest blush of something that might be the rusty mildew, a worse thing.
  • I still have to transplant this from its original black plastic pot, which causes the whole plant to go into shock and drop leaves and fruit.

Lemon tree farming is fraught with peril and heartbreak, especially if you only have one tree and you are trying to do it in NJ.

7 thoughts on “A Lemon’s Progress

  1. You are right in your assessment of lemon tree farming. Mine would bloom profusely, set on dozens of lemons and then one-by-one they would drop off. When it did take lemons to maturity they were tart beyond description. One lemon was all I neede for a lemon meringue pie.

    It looks like you’re having better luck, Suzette. What species of tree do you have?

    • It’s a Meyer Lemon tree that came as a gift via FTD. The books are right that 99% of the pea sized fruits drop off and that was heartbreaking enough. Now I am steeling myself for the predicted loss of golf ball sized fruits.

      Any success that I’ve had I credit to Jack’s Citrus Feed.

  2. Impressive that your lemons are still alive – if I were growing them where we are, up the Jersey Turnpike and over the GWB in New York, the plant would be dead and shriveled up from the cold we are still experiencing in the mornings – hovering in the 40s – my peonies are shut tight like clams, fearful of opening until the sunshine returns. Good luck!

    • i start checking the overnight temperature points as soon as I get up and don’t stop until after supper, just so I can plan to wrap a sheet around the little tree or not. So far, I haven’t had to. This part of NJ benefits from the warm ocean water temps making it more like NC than interior NJ.

      • We’ve had like two days day of sun and warmth since spring sprung then back to this horrible chill, fog, and drizzle mess. I haven’t brought out any plants nor have I planted a thing in the garden. I may just live summer vicariously though your Meyer Lemon tree thinking lemonade popsicles.

Leave a Reply

