The Thing That Would Not Die

Has there been some kind of breakthrough in supermarket poinsettia technology?

note the lemon tree reaching over to give it a swat.

This one came into my house in early December and is still going strong. I have never had a poinsettia last this long. Nor do I want one.

I wouldn’t throw out a healthy thriving plant but it was already on my nerves when it was competing for table space with the Valentine’s Day bouquet. It has gone on to compete with Sami’s coming home flowers, our anniversary flowers and is currently jockeying for space with a lucious  Easter Lily.

Live long and prosper and all that but come on – everything has to come to its natural end.

6 thoughts on “The Thing That Would Not Die

  1. Where I lived in SoCal, these things were trees ! Because of dh’s allergies to pine and poinsetta pollen, haven’t been able to keep a living or cut holiday plant at all in our home for decades. Boo. Hiss. Bah Humbug. So far so good on those Christmas Cactuses 🙂

    I think the houseplant poinsetta likes to be ignored and underwatered. Just give it a good soak when it starts to look limpy. Then ignore it for a few more weeks. Since you’ve had other things on your mind these past few months, probably why Ms. Poinsetta is thriving. God works in mysterious ways 😉

  2. Suzette,

    A suggestion: plant it outside, where they also thrive in South America. First frost this fall (or, um, late one in NE–see “God, mysterious ways”, above) problem solved. Plus you won’t waste the soil, it’ll be in your garden.

    • Ditto. It’s nature’s way, so if it survives the winter you can either post it as a Miraculous Shrine or a warning that mutant poinsettias intend to punish us for warming the globe.

  3. I have one of those. It’s going on three years old now. It’s spindly and leggy but still alive so I can’t throw it out. This month is the first time it produced red leaves since I first got it. It thrives on neglect.

  4. I hope I never get one. Any plant that thrives on neglect would take over my house. It’s too bad things you find desirable and worthy don’t thrive on neglect? I could stand to have a begonia that lasted longer than two weeks.

  5. I’m not as good a person as you all, as I threw mine out around the first of March. Just couldn’t stand to look at it any longer. I guess I should have set it outside in the yard and let the jackrabbits eat it.

Leave a Reply

