Time Passages

I had planned that when Sami finally came home after 29 days on the hospital that the house would be sparkling clean and filled with an ample selection of foods that finds he appealing. It didn’t work out that way.

When we got into the house yesterday , I was able to cobble a lunch and dinner out of eggs, spinach pie and canned soup and cottage cheese. But that pretty much exhausted the larder so I had to go to the supermarket at 7am today.

Did I mention that I’ve been back to work full time from 6am to 3pm for two weeks already?  I am not used to this. I’m used to deciding for myself what I will do and when I will do it. Suddenly, I’m beholden to others. AND I’m the main food supplier person  for the first time in 15 years. It’s an adjustment, let me tell you.

So I was kind of feeling bad when 7 am rolled around this morning and I threw on yesterday’s clothes, raked my bed head hair with my fingers and stuck my bare feet into loafers and took off for Stop N Shop. That was all I could manage in the time that I had.

And what do you suppose I saw there?  3 mature females in slippers, pajama bottoms and hoodies pushing carts up and down the aisles. A tevokution in the suburban mom dress code. There may have been more than three but I was focused on my corned beef-shredded wheat-pineapple tidbit cup shopping list and could not tear myself away for a more accurate head count.

Things have changed in the time since my wifely/motherly responsibilities meant I was a regular denizen of big ‘murican supermarkets. I wasn’t paying attention.

Anyway, corned beef and cabbage tonight. Meatloaf tomorrow. Tons of fresh fruit and a bottle of prune juice. I forgot the celery.

2 thoughts on “Time Passages

  1. I was going to get caught up in the food dilemma, but you don’t need my help; instead I’ll bet Sami is so glad to be home that he’ll tolerate cobbled together meals for a day or two. By then, you better have the celery.

  2. PJ’s are in. Today I saw a dad dropping off his kid at school in PJ bottoms and a winter coat. The kid was fully dressed, but the odds are that at least once a month the class will have a PJ day. I would have been in big trouble if they’d had PJ day for my older kids, they wore theirs until they were skin tight and full of holes. Now kids have to have decent ones because there’s a high probability they’ll be wearing them in public.

Leave a Reply

