No Predictions No Resolutions

As we start the New Year, I would like to raise the collective consciousness about the concept behind The Rye and the Kaiser, Weird Al’s parody of Eye of the Tiger: Years after his boxing ring glory has faded into memory*, Rocky Balboa lives a modest life as a deli owner and gives it his all, Rocky style.

So today, his deli comes first
Still he dreams of his past days of glory
Goes in the back and beats up on the liverwurst
All the while you can still hear him say
It’s the rye or the kaiser
It’s the thrill of one bite
Let me please be your catering advisor
If you want substitutions, I won’t put up a fight
You can have your roast beef on the rye
Or the kaiser

*Fun fact:  I never actually watched a Rocky movie so he may not have ended the series with glory in the ring. IDK. All I know is that scene running up the museum steps and then I move right to the assumption that Rocky was a winner in the ring. This is the world in which I choose to live.

2 thoughts on “No Predictions No Resolutions

  1. Your world is a good one. No predictions and no resolutions pretty much sums up life the way it really is. I’ll have my roast beef on San Francisco sourdough. The only thing San Francisco is responsible for that I care to consume.

Leave a Reply

