Leaving The Sadness Behind

Well, now I see why 99% of the flowers on a Meyer Lemon tree don’t result in mature fruit. Look at this over abundance of bloom on one slender branch. It would be impossible for the little tree to support that much fruit and certainly not enough room for them to develop if the tree could.

IMG_4106.JPG

There are no bees in my kitchen although I’m starting to wish there was. I’m using a small watercolor paintbrush to hand pollinate newly opened blooms. It’s a lot to keep up with and frankly it’s not as much fun as it sounds. It takes care and patience which conflicts with my lifelong habit of rushing in, slapping things around and giving up. The Three Stages of Suzette.

Maybe I was just feigning disinterest in the blossoms. I’ve been a little depressed ever since I read about that 99% drop off thing. But now that I understand God’s plan, I’m a bit more cherry about things. Also, someone that I respect and admire and who does everything perfectly told me that she uses the leaves from her lemon trees to decorate cakes and dessert platters.

IMG_4116

So now of course I’m obsessing about the leaves. Who’s got the next family birthday? You know who you are so brace yourself for a leaf-trimmed cake. I was going to make a  creamy orange poke cake anyway but now it’s going to have a big blob of citrus-shaped icing on top, artfully arranged with a few lemon tree leaves.

Ain’t life wonderful?

5 thoughts on “Leaving The Sadness Behind

  1. Rushing in, slapping things around and giving up have been the three stages of all my endeavors as well. Sadly, I can no longer rush anywhere ever and things have started slapping me around. I’m still pretty good at giving up.

  2. Having the silly song gene from my father, I can’t resist. “Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet, but the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.” But really, so good in tea, cakes, fish, chicken, etc. Good luck with the tree.

Leave a Reply

