Badass

Once not all that long ago, I was sitting next to a man at a business meeting. He was a mature man with a long lean appearance  and he wore a 2 ft long pony tail. He watched me take my folding cane out of my business bag and let it fall open. Then he proclaimed to the whole dinner party,  “That is one badass cane!”

It was the first time in my life that I had ever been associated with the notion of badass and I was thrilled about it, let me tell you. On the other hand, the compliment was about my cane.

Whenever I think about that day, I ignore the inconvenient details and remember it as the time that someone called me a badass. You should be thinking about me that way, too.

9 thoughts on “Badass

  1. Badass is obviously better than bigass. Which is clearly NOT an adjective applicable to your cane. Or anyone’s cane unless it belongs to Paul Bunyan or Andre the Giant.

    • This was a folding cane and I admit to creating a bit of theater by picking it up folded and then stretching my arm straight out as I let go of the 3 bottom segments. The elastic that runs through the core of the cane immediately pulls the pieces into overlapping alignment so that you are looking at a rigid solid cane with no indication that it is made of pieces.

      So maybe it is me that’s the badass.

Leave a Reply

