Old And New

2

pysanky

The two eggs with the darkest backgrounds were a wedding present from my uncle the priest. He gave us three actually but don’t get me started. The other four are modern creations done by my BFF by marriage. That is to say the person who married my BFF.

It’s hard to pick a favorite. But here’s something you should know about the beige and white egg: the shell was dyed and then shallowly cut away exposing the undyed surface and resulting in this design. Pretty cool.

The display plate is Stangl’s Golden Blossom and that abstract design is a flowering perennial plant known as lupine which grows in NJ. I’m thinking of selling of most of my Stangl to finance my vintage china habit but every time I look at even a single piece, I now I’ll never be able to do it.

In other Easter news, there’s a butter lamb a’comin’.

bl

 

3 thoughts on “Old And New

Leave a Reply

