Tipping Point

It’s here. My tipping point. I’m completely turned off by the idea of spending money on anything for myself because I feel like I won’t live long enough to get my return on investment.

And I’m not even talking about major purchases. I’m talking about things like Valentine Day gifts or anniversary presents. There’s a lot of occasions coming in in the next few months – anniversary, Mother’s Day, my birthday – so I know people or at least one person will be pressuring me to come up with gift idea. Back in the day, I could even wangle an Easter present but now I don’t need anything and I don’t want anything.

Well, maybe one of these little vintage planters so  I can clip roses and keep it filled all summer long.

Fullscreen capture 2202014 51257 PM

Because, pantalones. OBVIOUSLY.

But really, although this would give me pleasure right now, what is going to happen to it after I shuffle off this mortal coil? [I’m perfectly healthy and in fine, if winter-weary, shape. I’m just thinking, that’s all.] What will my children do when they find it among my possessions? Gaze at it and wonder what to do with it? Toss it on a junk heap without deliberation?

I don’t know.

Gawd, is it spring yet?

4 thoughts on “Tipping Point

  1. Back in the 80’s I sold all my son’s vintage Star Wars toys and felt guilty. Then God created eBay, got most of them back …. to great expense, but worth it. Now I have all granddaughters, drat my luck. Should I hold out for great-grandsons? The oldest grands are 11. #FirstWorldProblems huh? 😉

  2. I saw a precious shabby “chicish” baby blue ceramic bunny in Hobby Lobby yesterday that made me stop in my tracks. Aside from the crates of Easter/ spring decorations I already have, I am hostessing a baby boy shower in a few weeks with blue bunnies as my theme. The only way I was able to walk away (reluctantly) from that precious thing was it was only 30% off. I would never buy anything in a Hobby Lobby that isn’t 50% off.

  3. I figure all of my stuff will wind up in a thrift shop/antique shop and will be purchased and enjoyed by someone else. Cycle of life.

    I will say it makes me a little sad when I see something like a hand-embroidered luncheon cloth in a thrift shop because I think of all the many hours someone put into it, and it was just kind of ABANDONED there. (So of course I have to buy it, as someone who knows how much work such a thing takes)

    My books – well, if things like libraries still exist when I am fixing to shuffle off this mortal coil, I’m going to find out if libraries want some of mine. (I have a crapton of books, some of which are probably valuable)

Leave a Reply

