Al Gore Turned Vegan And I’m Not Feeling Too Good Myself

The third front door is here and is being installed today. There is an awful lot of chatter going on down there – I don’t remember this from last time. Of course, last time it was a very warm early September day and the chattering may have happened outside. Today is c-c-c-cold.

So far so good. The only tragic development is that the door surround for the garage was cut too short and so they can’t do that today. It will have to be ordered, winter will have to pass and then they’ll have to come back on the spring. But maybe maybe today, I’ll finally have a front door that closes all the way with molding on the inside instead of blue painter’s tape to keep the drafts out and a big old honest-to-God mechanism in place  of the little bashed up brass knob that we moved from the front door that was hanging here when we moved in 26 1/2 years ago.

[UPDATE: I can over hear the head installer asking my husband if he “has a better idea”. Do not like. I hear a metal tape measure going in and out and they are saying “87.” This has been up-to-the-minute reporting about my front door. More news as it develops.]

On the bright side, I contacted Hayneedle about the glue blob lamp shade and they are issuing a full refund and I don’t have to bother with returning the damaged shade, which is a great convenience to me.

Lampshades are invading my dreams now and it’s disturbing. They leave me wth a  feeling of unease. I come away with the impression that the shades in my dreams would be acceptable to just about anyone else and that holding our for the shade that I imagine must exist out there somewhere is unreasonable. I am made to feel foolish and unreasonable in my own dreams.

UPDATE: Darlings, my hinges are on the inside once again.

h

i am pleased.

3 thoughts on “Al Gore Turned Vegan And I’m Not Feeling Too Good Myself

  1. Al Gore is going vegan, which means more cows will live, which will mean more methane from cow flatulence and sea levels will rise.

    Oh, the horror.

    Btw: 87 is really close to the standard rough opening height for a 7 foot door.

  2. I’m waiting breathlessly to know what you will end up with for a lampshade. Just the thing to fit into a moment away from the pie making and discussions about the youngest daughters boyfriend who is unsuitable in every imaginable way.

Leave a Reply

