Nothing Is Anybody’s Fault But Things Happen

He made me look away.

Background: A couple of weeks ago, Sami came home with a $5 mandolin from Aldi. The thing works great and although we had a flurry of thinly sliced carrots, cucumbers  and apples in the beginning, once we put it away it didn’t get much use. But we throw a lot of food away around here – he buys too much and it sits too long and them out it goes.

Yesterday, there were 4 zucchinis , 3 tomatoes and a bag of red potatoes that were in jeopardy so I googled up a recipe and came across this recipe from Martha Stewart which just screams out for the mandolin. There must be some deep psychological reason why it didn’t occur to me to use my new  food processor with the big ass buttons but now I know better.

Crucial moment: There I was with 5 red potatoes rapidly turning into the most beautiful, the thinnest, the most charming little slices when Sami tried to engage me in a conversation and the next thing you know, my own dear little pinkie  also got shaved a little thinner on the outside surface. He made me look away.

Cinematic reference: You don’t mean to tell me that you don’t have the plot and dialogue of Moonstruck committed to memory like I have, do you? Cher is an asshat but I love this movie. I ain’t no freakin’ monument to justice.

 

6 thoughts on “Nothing Is Anybody’s Fault But Things Happen

  1. Thought of you today Suze, Sierra Mist came out with their annual CRANBERRY infused “soft” drink. It’s loverly with a splash of bottom shelf vodka *clinky* ❤

  2. This:
    “Crucial moment: There I was with 5 red potatoes rapidly turning into the most beautiful, the thinnest, the most charming little slices when Sami tried to engage me in a conversation and the next thing you know, my own dear little pinkie also got shaved a little thinner on the outside surface. He made me look away.”

    This is why I visit your blog. Where else would I find the phrase “the most beautiful, the thinnest, the most charming little slices” to delight my ear.

  3. I don’t care of Cher or Nicolas Cage, but I really like “Moonstruck”. There’s just some thing about it. Perhaps because it is romantic. And I love the music.

    Sorry about the pinkie. Next time you are going to use it, tell Sami to stay out of the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

