Secrets of the Bedroom

Here is an update to a part of the bedroom re-do that I haven’t shared with you before. It’s got nothing to do with roses.

Sami’s closet has a single plain light bulb in it that is turned on and off by pulling a string. At the end of the string is a decorative pull that we bought for our first home in northern NJ. I’m sure we went to Nickels or Rickles or some other defunct discount department store for it. Sami brought it home so I don’t have a clue how much it cost but a reasonable estimate suitable for the time and the store would be $0.99 to $1.29. We liked it so much that we moved it to this house with us. And here it is today still hanging, albeit by a green paperclip:

gid
It’s a glow-in-the-dark traffic light. When I saw that the poor old thing was hanging on by a paperclip I thought maybe since we’re giving the closet so much attention, we should update to a decent light pull that doesn’t need help from office supplies to do its job.

So I’ve been casually looking around and nothing really grabs me so I thought I’d give eBay a whirl to see if I could find something. Wouldn’t it be great if I could find this same pull? And guess what? I DID find it:

Fullscreen capture 1062013 113712 AM

Is this not stupendous?

The card says 59¢ and it came from Woolworth so maybe Sami had this when he was a bachelor in Brooklyn and now it’s in its third home not its second.

At the time of this writing, there’s still 8 hours left to bid. Who knows here the price will end up? Now I feel bad for our loved-but-not-values little traffic light. Maybe I’ll go treat it to 30″ of brass  chain from Home Depot.

eBay. They so crazy, right?

One thought on “Secrets of the Bedroom

  1. Hello! I know it has been a while and I am catching up here. I used to have this light pull too. There is one on Ebay now for $20 instead of that whopping $73! Still, these things were everywhere when I was younger! Can you believe the price of these things?

Leave a Reply

