Unexpected

The bedroom clean out continues. How could so much stuff have fit into only one room that already had a queen-sized bed, two night tables, a chair, a hope chest and 3 large pieces of furniture in it?

This morning I set out to tackle a large bag of curtains and tablecloths that I saved from my mother’s house. Turns out it was filled with an entirety different lot of tablecloths and curtains. The tablecloth was the first one I bought for my bachelorette apartment – big plump strawberries and leaves on a  black background. There were beige eyelet table runners and place mats that I think my mother used as doilies in one of her bedrooms, but I have only a vague recollection of that. And 10 panels of white voile curtains that I took off of the downstairs windows of the old house. I held them for a while and considered keeping them but then sanity returned and I remembered my mission to declutter and make storage room by removing the things I didn’t and probably would never use.

The curtains kind of slipped out of their uniform pile while I was in my reverie so I started to refold them. I was about three panels into it when I noticed a little bit of off white material pinned inside of one of the deep hems. Curtain weights.

photo (1)

I don’t even know what to say about these except that my mother always used curtain weights to achieve the attractive drape of her window treatments.  Modest though they might have been, they were uniformly  bent to her will for order and no one would have expected anything else. I put the curtains into the donate box but I gave myself permission to keep the curtain weights.

In other news, the white lamp has fallen out of my favor and is no longer a contender. I almost committed to the beautiful wild rose lamp but I wasn’t entirely frank with you yesterday. There’s another vintage lamp that I cannot stop thinking about and it’s this:

9

I know. It’s …. ordinary, isn’t it? Common for it’s time I guess would be a better way of putting it. But it does have a gracefulness of shape to it. The proportions are pleasing and I like how the handles don’t protrude out beyond the body of the urn. I am especially enchanted by the fluting at the top and the crazing in the glaze is mesmerizing. That is a plus for me, not a minus.

I don’t object to the decal of the rose. Some lamps of this type have a decoration that is garish and hard to look at but this one has a softness to it. Or something. I don’t know. I find it appealing. The lamp is very well suited for this bedroom where everything started out then as inexpensive goods for the masses and ended up now showing frank signs of age and wear. The pale green color will stand out against the beige wall and echo the green of my beloved latex orchid which resides on the opposite night stand. Plus, bidding for this starts at $9.99

Oh, but the wild rose lamp. Gawd, this lamp is beautiful.

2l

It might not be to everyone’s taste but there’s no denying its beauty. It’s in perfect condition, the flower decals have been enhanced by hand painting and it is obviously of better quality. The shape is classic and timeless  whereas the green one is definitely of its time. Bidding for this lamp starts at $79.99 and the seller guarantees safe delivery.

At the time of this writing, there is no bidder interest in either of them.

3 thoughts on “Unexpected

  1. I vote for Wild Rose. At one time I had a similar lamp to pink rose. If I still had it I would mail it to you. Keep in mind, dear Suzette, if you find a large vase you can have it rewired as a lamp. Happy bidding! Have you looked at etsy where you don’t have to bid? I have found many treasures there.

  2. I don’t know if it’s just the photo but the wild rose lamp looks like it leans to the right. Are they about the same height? That would be a factor for me, I hate a lamp that glares in my eyes when I’m in bed.
    My mother and grandmother insisted on curtain weights and I confess to the same obsession. Besides, it alerts me to the cat getting at the drapes because I can hear the weights hit the wall.

  3. I like the ordinary, yet graceful rose lamp. I must do; ‘oohhhh’ surprised me until I realized it was myself saying it.
    The curtain weights? No wonder my new curtains don’t hang right!! I never knew they were needed and now are a must have. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

