Charred

I’m sitting here eating a bowl of savoy cabbage which has been wilted/burned in a sauce pan with oil and salt. When it was ready, I put it into a soup bowl and sprinkled balsamic vinegar on it.

So I’m sitting here eating it and thinking there must be a more interesting/less blackened way to prepare it. Most of the recipes I find are variations on what I just made with a  few small differences: butter instead oil, the addition of ginger or onions, a few annoying references to”making  a slaw”. A SLAW. I object to that.  A slaw. Say coleslaw or don’t say anything. A slaw. Pfft.

Whatever. And then I see it: Charred Savoy Cabbage. which is the most bullshit recipe you ever saw. BUT I do think I will adopt charred as my descriptor of the day. For instance, I am sitting on an empty conference call line waiting for others to join. I know it isn’t cancelled because I set it up using my number. I am just charred that no one else showed up. It chars me that we don’t have anything decent to eat in this house. Except cabbage, beef, Armenian string cheese, eggs, tuna and salmon burgers, apples and peaches.

And Gin & Dubonnet.

I get positively charred whenever I order a favorite drink from a bar and they make it a according to some book recipe instead of listening to what I want. #1 Find a bar that stocks Dubonnet. #2 Order a Gin & Dubonnet with a twist. #3 Take bets about what is served to you.

Actually, I would never order this in a bar. This is how I like it: 5 parts gin, 1 part Dubbonet, lemon slice in the shaker, lemon slice in the glass. And I like it served in a vintage pink Jeannette glass Holiday low sherbet glass.  You can hardly even find a bar that will serve it that way.

Question: about my little birdhouse. I brought it out of the flower bed and close to the house so I could repaint it before installing it in its new location outside of my kitchen window. Blah blah lazy blah and I never got around to painting it. Now I think it would be a shame to change anything about it. So the question is am I just used to looking at it like this now or is ti really appealing the way it is?

bh

11 thoughts on “Charred

  1. Cook the savoy cabbage in some low salt chicken broth, along with some potatoes cut into small pieces. When it is done, thicken the sauce with a bit of roux, if you like.
    That’s a Hungarian recipe. Although I got the recipe from my Hungarian mother, I can do without the roux, myself.

  2. I cook mine with chopped polish sausage and onion, with a little chicken broth. Let that cook down and a few dashes of soy sauce at the end. Tastes good to me.

  3. The bird houses are right in style the way they are. Keep them that way until the style changes from shabby chic to something cuter.
    As for cabbage, just char your slaw and throw it away. Then eat something good.

    • I vote for this approach. The bird houses are just right as they are. And the savoy cabbage sounds awful.

      I never fail to learn something here. What’s wrong with me this week? I’m charred.

      Thanks, Dr. S…

      • Another look at the birdhouses. They appear to be rotting up from the bottoms (the cut ends of the wood). Like two of the posts on my front porch that have stood on wet concrete for too many years.

        There is some kind of miracle stuff that can be used to paint the cut ends of the wood and keep them from rotting further. Maybe it could somehow be used on your cute weathered birdhouses?

  4. My wife says that she had the best “grilled romaine” while visiting a friend. Our repeated attempts yield *charred* lettuce leaves in oil. Tastes like lettuce with burnt patches.

    I think the whole thing is an internet scam, like corn on the cob in a microwave, cats levitating or Illinois Senator Barack Obama being President. If you must eat cabbage (and really…), add onions, peppers, garlic, sauté and serve over Pennsy Dutch wide noodles with a lot of pepper.

    • Surprise, surprise. I found that corn on the cob (for two, not a crowd) is wonderful done in the microwave. I rinse each cob in cold water after shucking and destringing it, then wrap each in a square of waxed paper and twist the ends.

      We have a high-powered (1300) microwave – 3 minutes and then a sit while the rest of the meal finishes up. Then turn the cobs around and give them another minute. We are cranky about corn and this is a great success… (I think I learned it from an ancient Betty Crocker microwave cookbook.)

  5. Another version of “Stump the Bartender” involves elderflower liqueur. My DSW likes some of the simpler cocktails made with this, but she might as well bring her own. If it’s not flavored vodka or craft beer, they never heard of it, therefore it must not exist.

  6. Elderflower liqueur!! My favorite!!

    Suzette – I went to my local Total Wine and lo, and behold, Dubbonet was IN STOCK. Instead of my after dinner gin, St. Germain (elderflower liqueur) gimlet, I had your gin, Dubbonet and lemon. I did not have the lovely pink sherbet glass to drink from, but the cocktail was divine! It even had approval from the legal drinking age son who only drinks craft beer and brown liquor. Thank You!!

    You are such a valuable wealth of knowledge.

Leave a Reply

