Hit & Run

I have a full day of conference calls today so minimal time for blogging but I thought it was important that the world should know where I stand today about a Google Reader replacement.

Here’s what I’m UAT-ing*:

  • Feedly
  • Bloglovin’
  • Newsblur
  • Digg Reader
  • Pulse

So far, Feedly is looking good for use on both computer terminal and iPhone. Bloglovin’ seems kind of meh. Newsblur got on my nerves right out of the gate because of it’s pre-population during set-up with hipster sites I wouldn’t read on a regular basis under normal circumstances. Once a I replace them with a few of my own regular stops, evaluation will be more realistic – right now I’m just marking everything as read as soon as it opens, due to the irritation factor.

No thanks to Pulse. Not interested in a colorful and interactive mosaic. Likewise Digg Reader – practice on someone else and get back to me when you have it right. Also, anything linking usage to Facebook friends gets an automatic rejection from me.

For the record, I want a simple feed reader not a social network built around similar taste in reading material. I’m not one for the echo chamber. I’d  much rather have open discussion with reasonable people who can have a sane conversation about differing opinions.

*User Acceptance Testing. Do you think I’m spending too much time working on IT issues?

12 thoughts on “Hit & Run

  1. This is probably a stupid question, but, what exactly is the point of any of those? What do they do. I bookmark the blogs I like in my “favorites” on the computer. If I’m away and want to see on one my phone, I can easily search by name in the browser. What am I missing?

    • They aggregate all of the new posts in one spot so you don’t have to go to each site individually to see what is new.

      • And they alert you to new content when it appears for each site you follow so that you don’t have to keep checking for updates by visiting the site. Some services allow you to group the sites you follow into categories so if you only feel like catching up on food sites, you can easily find those and view new content without wading thru the gossip blogs.

        • Thanks. I already waste enough time, I think it’s probably better if it’s not easier to get to. Good luck finding what works for you, all of you.

  2. I’m pretty happy with Feedly – don’t want to be sucked into Digg. I have 50 feeds at the moment and a good RSS reader is really helpful. I’m going to miss the integration of Google Reader into iGoogle, but iGoogle is going away anyway.

  3. I couldn’t get Feedly to work for me for some reason. Is there a magic trick? I tried The Old Reader because it looked simple, but could only add certain sites and not others. What’s with that? I disliked NewsBlur because it only lets you rid things within its little boxes – never actually takes you to the sites.

    So for now, I’m using Bloglovin. It mostly does what I want it to do without too much angst. I prefer simple.

    At some point I might go back and try Feedly again – hey, I just thought of something. Maybe it doesn’t play well with Firefox. Maybe I should try it on IE.

  4. I switched to Feedly, but it doesn’t seem to be as quick to pick up new content as Google Reader was. For instance, I’m aware of a new story on a blog that I follow, but it hasn’t shown up in my Feedly reader yet. That’s annoying.

  5. Ditto what Linda said. I also started a bloglovin’ acct, but was put off by their suggestions of what blogs were like mine. They suggested two defunct blogs as comparable to my very much alive blog. How does that happen? Hmmm?

Leave a Reply

