Reader’s Choice

What fascinating aspect of my life shall I talk about today? Something  I saw on TV? What I ate/am eating/plan to eat later? A peek into the the 10 hour day of a big business drone? Sitting on the deck?

Really, I should get out of here once in a while and Do. Something.

Here’s an interesting fact about me: I don’t trust anyone else to cook pasta for me. I like it exactly as I like it which is slightly underdone and it doesn’t take much to cross that line and wreck an entire dish as far as I’m concerned. that’s probably why I prefer short squat pasta shapes like rigatoni or rotelle, even a bowtie. People get tired of waiting for them to be done so these types are less likely to be overcooked.

Oh wait. That was about eating. Gawd, I’m in a rut.

…………………………………………….

UPDATE: Okay. I can’t restrain myself. Look! I made pickled red onions.

pro

Pickled Red Onions Day 1

I followed the instructions from Simply Recipes. Although I am not a big fan of sugar in my pickles let alone random spices that seem better suited to baked goods, I decided to go with this recipe anyway because every day is a new day, right? I followed the recipe exactly against my strong desire to start messing around with it. Let’s how how this turns out and then I’ll make adjustments on the next load.

Okay you got me. I threw in some back peppercorns.

These things are supposed to turn bright pink by tomorrow so we’ll see. The internet is crazy about using these on sandwiches and as a topping for just about anything and even as a side dish.  People are in love with the crunchiness that develops while the onions cool down in the jar, but I hope that doesn’t turn me off. Even though I know that these are not hot dog cart onions, and I don’t expect them to be hot dog cart onions, I’m afraid I will be disappointed that are actually not hot dog cart onions. Just love me – don’t try to understand me.

Sad to report that my husband woke up during the part where I was boiling the vinegar, expressed his opinion, had a cup of coffee and then went back to sleep. I think I knocked him out.

Pickled Red Onions 

  • 1 lb red onions (about 2 med or 1 large), thinly sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cinnamon stick
  • 5 cloves
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 star anise
  • Dash red pepper flakes

1 Blanch red onions in a saucepan of boiling water for 2 minutes. Drain in colander.

2 While the water is heating in step 1, in a separate saucepan combine the vinegar, sugar and spices. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to simmer, cover and simmer for 5 minutes.

3 Add blanched, drained onions to the vinegar mixture. Simmer for 1 minute.

4 Transfer to a glass jar. Allow to stand until cooled. Will keep several weeks refrigerated.

7 thoughts on “Reader’s Choice

  1. I think we need an update on the porch project. I rather liked the direction your decorating was going there.

  2. David Rocco on the cooking channel and Italian pasta: the show originates in Italy (spectacular shots of different locations) and features basic local Italian dishes.
    Most of the local dishes are meatless, and those that have meat do so sparingly. I have yet to see the “meatballs and spagetti”, but do see a lot of fish or cheese pasta. Lots of pasta with vegetables, wine.
    It all looks and sounds so healthy.

    Oh, who am I kidding, I just want to be one of the tourists there. It’s beautiful and rustic and historic. I don’t really care about the cooking.

  3. Is the vinegar in these recipes subtracted from or in addition to the straight shot you consume on a regular basis for health reasons?

  4. So how did the onions turn out? I’m thinking that I want pickled onions in my Indian chicken salad to brighten the flavors. Not sure they are consistent with the Indian flavor but I think they’d work.

    • The pickled red onions turned out great!

      On their own, they’re a little weird – I don’t think I could recommend them as a side dish – but they have the very chameleon-like quality of enhancing whatever foods they’re paired with without overwhelming it. So far, I’ve used them for toppings on hummus on toast, the koshary, cheddar cheese sandwich on 12-grain bread, conventional tuna salad and on a baked potato.

      The crunchy texture that I was so worried about turned out to be very similar to a perfect apple, so not off-putting at all.

  5. Pingback: Chickens and Eggs » curry chicken salad

Leave a Reply

