To Me

And so it’s my birthday. I’m going to treat myself to a nice cut and color at my favorite salon today. You’ll be happy to know that I did achieve my goal of making a French Twist and now I can get this hot mess cut off just in time for the summer swelter. I’ve been searching for examples of flattering haircuts that  can take to the salon for reference – my hairdresser encourages that – but most of what you find when you search for “flattering hairstyles for mature women” are Hollywood actresses with goony spiked or Medusa hairdos. Then I realized that these are women who don’t have the rounded/squared-off Slavic face shapes so no matter what their hairdo is, it won’t look the same on me. And that’s when it hit me – go with what the famous rounded/squared-off Slavic faced women go with:

msh

must be martha!

Just a few wispy bangs to fill in that bare spot (which I have helpfully added) and this is exactly what I had in mind in the first place. See ya on the flip side. Or, to put it more accurately, see ya on the feathered bob side.

UPDATE: Apparently, I am ruled by Uranus this year. Is that good or bad?

12 thoughts on “To Me

  1. Happy Birthday to my favorite (snarky) blogger. May you have a wonderful day. And since I have the same type of Slavic face, when you find that perfect hairstyle, please let us know.

  2. Happy Happy Birthday Suzette! Are you going to do the wispy bangs in a contrasting color as above? could be fun…! 😉

  3. You could pick up a wig off Mooch’s closet floor – then if you changed your mind…..

    Oh, nevermind.

    Happy, happy birthday – you bring us so much enjoyment.

  4. “Ruled by Uranus”: Let’s get the sniggering over with right now. Truth is it is all good for you. Uranus is a hopped-up version of Mercury, the ruler of Gemini. Uranus opposes Saturn, the taskmaster, what we learn from the school of hard knocks. Uranus rules Aquarius. What did the Fifth Dimension say about the Age of Aquarius? Now you’ve got it. When you’re done cutting & curling, get your chart done by your friendly neighborhood astrologer.

  5. Happy Birthday Suzette! First you get the haircut then a new poncho and poof! You no longer have to pay taxes hahaha! 😉

  6. I know it’s almost past your birthday, but just in time to say, hope it was a very pleasant day. Good luck with the hairdo. Mine never looks the same after the first washing, so I usually don’t try anything new.

  7. “A hard shell with soft corners underneath.” This is difficult to picture. Sounds like some things might crack.
    Best of luck with the hair cut. I always come home and cry, but your mileage may vary.

Leave a Reply

