Weird

Here’s 3 weird things, or 2 weird things if you bundle like events together:

Weird Thing 1. In downtown Denver, there are free shuttle buses that runs every two minutes the full length of 16th street and stops briefly at every corner.  The drivers watch in the mirror to see if people are still stepping off before they shut the doors and continue on. So one assumes they see a lot of feet during the course of the day. I was getting off the shuttle at the end of the line and as I walked past the front of the bus, the driver stuck her head out of the window and complimented my shoes and asked me where I got them. That never happened to me before.

Weird Thing 2. Or possibly Weird Thing 1a. In Denver airport, as I was working my way through the security check  (pat down. ugh. it’s a free show. everyone watches.) a middle-aged, middle-of-the-road kind of male TSA agent picked up my shoes from the bin and said “Nice shoes!” One assumes they see a lot of shoes during the course of the day.

Would you like to see these remarkable shoes? Here they are:

Ryka Leather and Mesh Slip-on Skimmers from QVC now on clearance for $23.50

 Big deal, right? I bought three pair. I was wearing the black ones on the shuttle and the blue ones in the airport. I can’t wait to see what happens when I wear the beige ones.

Weird Thing 3. I had a window seat on the plane for the trip home. About an hour out from landing, I noticed a collection of water droplets streaking across the outside of my window. I was trying to assess what the chance of me being sucked out through the little porthole if the window fell out when I drifted off to sleep for a few minutes. When I opened my eyes, the clouds all around were pink. I thought maybe I was already on the other side of the porthole and was pleased to discover that my death was painless. The pink only lasted a few minutes then it was back to regular earthly-type clouds …

BUT! …

I suddenly had the answer to a work problem that I had been struggling with for a few days. So who’s to say? Maybe I was dead and the angles told me which cohorts were missing from my census base. And then they returned me to United Flight 229. And gave me a nosebleed.

This was a weird trip.

6 thoughts on “Weird

  1. I love the shoes!!!

    Re weird thing # 3 – pink clouds and water droplets? Um…maybe the angels sent you back because you weren’t “done” yet. Reminds me of my favorite line from A Fish Called Wanda. Kevin Kline to Michael Palin while eating his pet fish: “Avoid the green ones. They’re not ripe yet.”

  2. The shoes look very comfortable. I can’t find my size on eBay and they’re sold out on QVC. Are they true to size for you? There seem to be two opinions about that eBay says no, Zappos says yes, but thay don’t have that style.

    The pink clouds thing is a little spooky, but it’s the nose bleed I find to be an “area of concern.” Are you OK?

    • Pray for that damned sump pump which needs electrical power to keep running. Also pray that the increased water volume in the already-pressurized underground dam does not knock down the basement wall.

Leave a Reply

