Romertopf

Do any of you have one of these?

Know people with one?

Wish you had one?

Are they what they’re cracked up to be?

30 years after these were “a thing” ( Or 2000 years after they were “a Roman thing”. As you like it.), I’m interested.

I’m gathering information from real life users of this utensil. Although I’m sure the cottage-crafting-recipe crowd at Pinterest has a lot to say about them,  I’m not looking there ever again – do you know I’m still getting daily hits from those damned hard-boiled peeps?

Anyway, what say you?

18 thoughts on “Romertopf

    • Yeah. That’s what I’m worried about. I already have a pile of utensils/appliances that work great but are rarely used because they’re too much trouble to use or clean. Shout out to my Ronco Showtime Barbeque Rotisserie.

  1. I received one as a wedding gift – yup, 30 years ago. I think I used it once, don’t remember how the food came out – probably chicken – but I do remember what a pain in the neck it was to soak it in the tub first, to try and clean the grease out of a porous object and to store it, since it is rather fragile. I think it probably broke when we moved a few years later and was not missed in the slightest. Given that we really only like white meat, roasting whole chickens does not happen. Even if we did like it, rotisserie chickens are so cheap and available, why bother.

  2. You soak it in water for about an hour, toss in a bunch of root veggies that are mixed with olive oil and white wine – just a splash, seasonings and a bouquet garni, and roast. Most delicious!

  3. Nero used to have live birds put into bread so they’d fly out when he cut into a loaf.

    Which one of these things do you need to do that?

  4. Got one as wedding gift for #1 wedding. Used a few times for chicken but didn’t like cleaning it. You could never get the grease out and it looked all splotchy. When stored in a cabinet, it emitted a peculiar odor. (From all that impregnated chicken fat!) I broke it up (along with #1 marriage) and used the shards in the bottom of flower pots for good drainage. That’s the highest and best use of one of these things.

  5. Loved mine, but didn’t use it enough to justify bringing it along when we recently moved to smaller digs. Fish and chicken both come out wonderfully.

  6. Wow, that pic of the Romertopf brings back memories. When I was 12 or so, circa 1972, I bugged my Mom until she bought one. I’d been seeing it advertised on TV and for some reason it fascinated me. Made of clay, Egyptian (?), pseudo-hieroglyphics on it, and supposedly it represented an ancient cooking style– what’s not to like for a budding archaeologist? If memory serves, we bought it at a local hardware store that had a small housewares section. I talked my Mom into doing a rump roast in it. The meat was dry, and the Romertopf cracked (I think you’re supposed to soak it first). This less-than-stellar result, even though I’m positive it was due to my nonexistent cooking skills at that age and my Mom’s total lack of enthusiasm, killed any interest in trying again. The poor Romertopf hung out in the back of a cupboard for years, until we moved and got rid of it.

Leave a Reply

