And Now For Something Partially Different

Welcome to the Sunday Morning Poetry Throwdown. I’m just going to keep on doing these so you might as well participate. There’s no escape for you.

Preamble: I had to do some research on vintage C&W music this week for a birthday present. Before I settled on Dim Lights, Thick Smoke & Hillbilly Music: Country & Western Hit Parade 1962, I watched a lot of 50s-60s era C&W/Hillbilly stars performing on YouTube. I’ve been cracked up by the comment oneupsmanship on that site before when looking at R&R videos. Apparently, ignorance know no genre.

One of my favorite features in the comments is the “that’s my grandfather” claims. The C&W crowd is the best. Sometimes  a dozen people claim that kinship on a single video clip. I’ve wished that I was a trained epidemiologist before but today I would like to be an epidemiologist to trace the path of Hank Snow’s tour bus in 1958 and compare the geography to today’s YouTube grandchildren. Because I get his appeal. The more I look at the following video, the more I think I might go for him and his skinny litte behind.  Here he is doing I’ve Been Everywhere. It took me all of 2 views to completely forget about Johnny Cash and declare that Hank Snow did it better.

And so in homage to Hank Snow, for today only the today throwdown will be The Sunday Morning Song Lyrics Throwdown. Here’s my offering:

I was totin’ my butt along the law firm hallway hangs,
When along came a cool guy with his own choom gangs.
“If you want to be a beard, Meesh, with me you can ride.”
And so I climbed on board and I settled in as his fashion-forward bride.
He asked me if I wanted to visit some resorts and all the nations
And I said  Sure! but only if you can swing some free vacations.

I’ve been everywhere, man.
I’ve been everywhere, man.
Showed my armpits bare, man.
Clipped on extra hair, man.
Expenses? I don’t care, man.
I’ve been everywhere.

I’ve been to:
Maine, Chicago, Aspen Colorado,
Kailua, Grand Canyon, Yellowstone,
Panama City Beach, Botswana,  Africa,
London, Vatican, Martha’s Vineyard, Shake Shack,
Oak Bluffs, Hyde Park, Camp David, Broadway,
Paris, New York City , Barcelona,  Arizona.

I’ve been everywhere, man.
I’ve been everywhere, man.
Packed a lot to wear, man.
Brought Mother to au pair, man.
So what if it’s “not fair”, man?
I’ve been everywhere.

4 thoughts on “And Now For Something Partially Different

  1. Loved your rendition, Suzette. I actually grew up listening to the Grand Ole Opry on the radio back in the 50s/60s, so am a country lover from way back when. Hank Snow was quite the singer and man. As a boy, he was physically abused by his grandmother and later his stepfather. Quite a story of him pulling himself up by his bootstraps.

Leave a Reply

