Happy Days

As you know, Sam had surgery at the end of May. His recovery has been slower than I thought it would be. Despite excellent bloodwork results, plenty of rest and high quality nutrition*, he’s still generally uncomfortable and slow to regain his energy. So I was a little worried about the weekend that just passed.

We had two important birthday parties to attend in Pennsylvania. It wasn’t just the three hours sitting in a car that worried me but also the time spent in public. Not sure I’m explaining this well but just the lack of restorative naps, the staying dressed in party clothes, the effort of party conversation  and the dramatic change in routine – I just wasn’t sure he was up to it.

The Saturday party was an outdoor bash for a 9 year old. Sami weathered the car ride without problem, unless you count the fact that I chose the wrong route and drove in the wrong lane the whole way (according to him, but that’s his opinion every day). He was ok at the party and excused himself only once to stretch out on a sofa inside the house. He paid for it that night when we got to our hostess’s house where he spent the night moaning and groaning and trying to be comfortable without his magic Motion convalescent bed. He got up on Sunday had a cup of coffee and then went back to bed for two hours because he was so wrung out from the day before.

On Sunday we were invited to the 100th birthday celebration for the father of of our third Musketeer. [Sidebar: Can you believe that my two best friends do not have blogs? I can’t either. – S.] I didn’t think Sami would be up to it but when the time came, he put on his party pants and was as lively as any guest there. I guess the key to get him moving is tell him he’s getting a catered meal and a piece of cake.

On the drive home, he was energetic enough to alert me every time he thought it was appropriate to change lanes. Some things are far too essential to the fabric of our lives to be changed by recent life events, milestones though they may be.

When it came time to blow out the candles, the birthday celebrant wished for another hundred years. He might make it too.

*3 meals and 2 snacks on time and without fail.

…………………………………..

ADDENDUM: All of the living presidents sent greetings to note the special occasion for this decorated WWII veteran. What do you think of the sentiments?

Jimmy Carter

.

George Bush 41

.

William Jefferson Clinton

.

George W Bush

.

the White House

15 thoughts on “Happy Days

  1. Almost two months bedridden? Of course he’s not recovering. Get him out of bed, make him get his own coffee/tea/drink. Up and attem, on his feet.
    Three steps today, four tomorrow. Been there, done that.

    What a strange tradition of sending birthday congrats to 100yr olds by our Presidents. Do they also send a condolence card when they die?

      • Yes, exactly. When I got home after two weeks flat on my back in the hospital, walking to my bathroom was a tiring exercise. I slowly gained some measure of activity, but when I couldn’t take it anymore I joined “jazzercise”.
        If any of your readers were in the same group, yes, I was the one who acted like she was wearing lead tennis shoes. In the beginning, I sat more than I stood.
        Three months, a whole three months of pushing myself, I was nearer to my activity level. Use it or lose it.

  2. The greeting from George W. Bush sounded most sincere, plus he mentioned his military service. Obama did too (surprise!) but it sounded cold to me. Maybe I’m just looking at it through my prism of disgust with the communist-in-chief.

  3. i like how they all used different fonts. every president gets their own font. im going to be the comic sans president.

  4. I think you’ve been hacked, as far as the new theme goes, which, by the way, blows. If you go on to Theme Showcase, I think you can change back? I tried to complain to the “designer”, which has a link on the bottom of some pages, and a page of all Arabic or Indian or Pakistani ??? came up. Check it out and let us know!

  5. Obummer’s card doesn’t even include his name. Throw another of those 100 year old card thingies in the signature machine Madge!

  6. Well, Obama’s card has no reference to the first 100 years of this gentleman’s life. I’ll give him a pass and just assume Obama’s word processor doesn’t have the software to transfer three digit numbers from Kenyan to English.

    • Those first hundred years? You didn’t live that! You didn’t get there on your own! I’m always struck by people who think, well, it must be ’cause I was just so healthy. There are a lot of healthy people out there. It must be because I was luckier than everybody else. Let me tell you something. There are a whole bunch of lucky people out there. If you are alive, somebody along the line gave you some help. There was a great Governmental Administrator somewhere in your life.

      PS – Michelle says to be sure to apply for SNAP!

  7. Obama’s card is a form that is probably used for every person that turns 100. No imagination or feeling. But I am with Teri: don’t like him.

  8. Got to love a guy who prepares for a nap by drinking a cup of coffee.

    Liked the Bush 41 note best, but he’s a WWII vet as well.

Leave a Reply

