Sweaty Nashville

Do you know that you have to pump your own gas in Tennessee? It made me sweat at 6:30 in the morning.

When I pulled into the Hertz return, the Hertz guy greeted me by saying “Oh, you’re back again.” I don’t think he recognized me as much as he recognized the outfit I always wear when I travel.

A woman using a white cane called out to me when I was about 12 feet away from her and asked for a lighter. She called me “ma’am”. I guess she wasn’t totally blind and knew I was a woman from the location of food stains on my bosom.

Come to think of it, all of my clothes except for the fancy wedding clothes have either food stains or paint drips on them.

I should probably get some new clothes.

Also I have had it with this Southern drawl business. The shuttle driver called me “ma’am” too. My first reaction to hearing that is always to wonder if they are kidding me.

Also the correct pronunciation of T-I-R-E is TY-er not tahr.

Also give it a rest about your haunted houses. Nobody believes you anyway.

Nashville got on my nerves this trip.

13 thoughts on “Sweaty Nashville

  1. If you said outfit in Wyoming people would think you were talking about your truck. It’s fun to figure out local jargon unless you’re just too hot and tired to care. Hope you feel better soon. Go for the new wardrobe!

  2. I was born and raised in the South and have a pronounced drawl, so I can write as an expert that some people develop their drawl to the point it’s so annoying, you swear there should be a law allowing you to hit them in the face when they cross the threshold of what can be considered appropriate. On a really hot day, you don’t consider a law. You only consider if you can get away with it.

  3. If young southern gentlemen chose to rap, they would include ma’ams, darling’s, ‘n honeys instead of bitches, ho’s and skanks.

    Y’all have a nice evenin’, y’hear?

  4. Back in the day when I had to work to eat, my job meant dealing with people from all over the US (or Mars in some cases). The worst conversation was with a pleasant woman from Tennessee who might have been speaking English (or American) but with such a drawl that I asked if I could speak to someone else. She was good-natured about it and the next person and I were able to communicate.
    NewYorkers/NewJersey people have a definite twang that takes some time to understand, too.

    I love the folksy things people say in different parts of the US, but the southern drawl has to be the hardest to figure out.
    I used to watch the TV chef, Paula Deen, until she said she was going to put the “owl in the boil, y’all.”

  5. You have to pump your own gas everywhere but NJ and Oregon. Why are we such heathens?

    I firmly believe that a thick accent of any kind indicates stubbornness, and a mind that is either unwilling to, or unable to learn.

  6. The “sir/ma’am” thing is pretty deeply ingrained in the South. It’s considered polite and respectful. As for the drawl, it varies. I don’t have as much of a Southern (Texas) accent as, say, my dad, but if you put me next to my friends from New England, yes, I have an accent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

