Problems

There’s too much going on to report in blog format but I will tell you one thing. And it’s a disturbing thing, too.

When I sleep, APPARENTLY my mouth falls open and then somehow my top lip gets stuck on the left lateral incisor. And by stuck, I mean that the inside membrane of my lip dries out and bonds with the tooth surface. Here’s a helpful graphic:

not my actual lip

And it’s really stuck, too. It doesn’t just pop off when I wake up. It takes some concentrated lip movement sometimes with a finger/thumb assist to free it. And then I have a sore spot on my lip, similar to a self-inflicted bite. Now considering that I sleep at least twice in a 24 hour cycle – all hail the cat nap! – the sore spot never gets a chance to heal up. This has only been happening for about 2 weeks, but it happens every time I sleep.

I’m sure you’ll agree that this is quite a disturbing turn of events.

7 thoughts on “Problems

  1. Sounds like sleep apnea (sp). Try a small piece of gauze dampened with toothpaste over your tooth..you’ll get used to it.

  2. With all due respect, the chemicals in toothpaste if left against the skin overnight, might be an irritant and cause blistering.

    I would suggest a moisturizing lip balm such as Nivea Lip Care swiped over the “hang up” tooth area right before sleepy time to create a smooth release of the tissue of your lip/mouth. It is not a thick, waxy goop like Chapstick … more like lotion-in-a-tube for your lips. It will keep that area nice and slick without the icky-gooey-ness of petroleum jelly (used by pageant queens and cheerleaders to prevent “lip hangup”).

    I would actually put a very small amount on my tooth and on my lips. Since it is made for that area of the body … I can’t imagine it would be harmful. I use the Nivea Night Recovery Lip balm every night to keep my lips from chapping in the Arizona dry air… and it prevents my lips from aging and looking old under lipstick.

    Just a thought. 😉

    Meanwhile, if you could just shake your hips and sing “Blue Suede Shoes”, you could do a killer version of the Elvis sneer whilst sleeping!

  3. Hmmm. Drool is embarrassing, stuck lip is painful. Drool is easily cleaned up, stuck lip leaves evidence. You need to convert to drooling. I’m not quite sure how to do this, but it seems like a good idea.

Leave a Reply

