Low Slanted Light

I have always been of the opinion that the low slanted light of an October afternoon is the most spell-binding light on Earth, but look at the early morning light coming into my space from the East. This is going to sound awful but I must say that i’m glad I’m alone to enjoy this. In just a few moments, the airspace around me is going to be filled with inquires about today’s weather and the state of the dog’s food bowl and whatever else must be spoken out loud right this very minute. Gawd, I love that man but he sure likes to talk about nothing.

From our Department of Wintertime Productivity: I made biscotti and Sami made a pole for a birdfeeder. They both came out pretty good.

I don’t know what possessed me to make something chocolate. The recipe sounded good, I guess. When I look at the finished product, I get excited because it looks like little pumpernickel slices to me and when I pick it up and get a whiff of it, it’s a big let down.

Anyway, Squirrel Buster Plus bird feeder. Homemade pole fashioned from electrical conduit, Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti, Cranberry-Pistachio Biscotti.

Bonus photo! Just in case you were thinking that my life is all slanted light, home baked goods and organization, let me disabuse you of that notion right now. This is the corner of Sami’s desk in the American West Meets Craftsman Style with Pine Cones And A Big Clock  room. I’m thinking of buying an old wooden box from rifle ammunition or horse shoe nails to cover this tangle up. A few ventilation holes drilled into the back, a small curved cutout for the wires on the sides and we should be good. And in theme.

7 thoughts on “Low Slanted Light

  1. I share your enjoyment of the inner peace given by the slanting rays of sunshine into our homes.

    That being said, for pete’s sake does anyone have any solution to the tangled mess of wires that terrorize our homes and offices? Wireless means absolutely nothing. Where is the genius that would invent an ‘all in one wire’ to save us from this horror?

  2. There’s a certain slant of light,
    On winter afternoons,
    That oppresses, like the weight
    Of cathedral tunes.

    Heavenly hurt it gives us;
    We can find no scar,
    But internal difference
    Where the meanings are.

    None may teach it anything,
    ‘Tis the seal, despair,-
    An imperial affliction
    Sent us of the air.

    When it comes, the landscape listens,
    Shadows hold their breath;
    When it goes, ’tis like the distance
    On the look of death.

    Emily Dickinson

  3. I got the impression that you considered crushing the chocolate biscotti as feeder fodder.

    I also got the Stevie Winwood song stuck in my head, so thanks for that.

    …And the thing that disturbs you is only the sight
    Of the low slant on high-tech toys.

  4. Thank you for posting the photo of a corner of Sami’s desk. It makes me feel a kinship I hadn’t realized before. But our electrical cord octopus is on the floor, making it necessary for whoever’s knees are working that day to crawl under to unplug as required.

    But where are the piles of paper? I keep mine at odd angles to each other so that things can (sort of) be located readily.

    A writer on ADD called them “ADD piles”. Kind of late in life to be confirming that. When I was still in the corporate world, it was called “ability to multitask” and to “change direction at a moment’s notice as required”, presumably without upset. How times change….

    Happy New Year, every one….

Leave a Reply

