Frigate

you must read these

If I count it up right, we are about 112 days away from release of the 4th volume of Robert Caro’s LBJ biography.

I must compose myself.

Although I love my Kindle, I have been waiting a long time to get my hands on the 4th volume in this series. Even though there were only supposed to be 3.  And now there’s 5. Anyway the point is that the Kindle, lovely though it may be, is no frigate. It’s a rocket, a spaceship. But for a thing like this, you need to let it wash over you; you need to stand and push against the wind. Only a frigate will do. A long, black 5,000 pound chrome-covered V-8 frigate.

“The Passage of Power” will focus on the years 1958-’64, from the time he began seeking the presidency, through his years as vice president under John F. Kennedy, and to Johnson’s becoming president after JFK’s assassination.

Kennedy and Johnson lived at the same time but JFK was really a 50’s kind of guy. LBJ was a futurist.

4 thoughts on “Frigate

  1. I know what you mean about books vs Kindle. I LOVE my Kindle, but some things are just not meant to be read that way.
    I’m not sure I’m ready to know the really grungy stuff about how power works. It sounds like a lot of work. I’ll let you push against the wind and then paraphrase it for me.

  2. Pingback: Maybe We Should Have Just Left Him On the Side of the Road « Cripes Suzette

Leave a Reply

