It Just Stops Being Cake, Ok?

My Large Red Vicky Giraffe Print Faux Leather Satchel Bag Handbag Purse has  arrived and I can’t tell you how thrilled I am with it. I hope it lasts forever but since it cost only 20 bucks, I’m thinking that it will be in tatters by the end of summer.

I’m thinking of building an outfit around it to make a big splash at a high-level meeting I’ll be attending at the end of July. Picture this:

  • ivory top
  • brown pants
  • red shoes

But I need something red higher up. Red hoop earrings? Red beads? A red hibiscus behind my ear? Maybe a red cane?

OK. Hold the presses.  I just saw something that totally derailed me.

Gorgeous Red Folding Cane Womens Retractable Lolita Umbrella

“A lolita outfit is composed of basic key elements. These can be broken down into: headwear, blouse, bell-shaped skirt, undergarment, legs, and footwear. Each element is essential in creating the proper lolita aesthetic, but as you will see, there is much room for variety within them. Although none of these can be called absolute necessities, remember that coordinating a lolita outfit is a bit like making a cake. You can take away or replace a couple of ingredients, but if you take away the butter, the sugar, and the milk, it just stops being cake.”

Am I the only one who never heard of a Lolita outfit? I’ve heard of the literary Lolita but I don’t quite recall anything about umbrellas in there.  Is a Lolita outfit something that tenderonis wear while they are Lolitaing around? Or are there other occasions when this is the standard gear?

I am definitely going to need some coffee while I think this information over so I’m just going let you alone to decode all this while I tank up. I also need to chew over this new trend of naming things with a google search-type name. Obviously, there won’t be any time to do laundry today.

Tangentially related: LFDH Tenderoni

20 thoughts on “It Just Stops Being Cake, Ok?

  1. I did notice a great paella recipe online called lolita’s paella but lolita garb is new to me.I long ago promised you a link and it’s in Sunday’s column. Smooches

  2. :::Obviously, there won’t be any time to do laundry today.::: Clearly not. Me either, now that you’ve tasked me with figuring out the Lolita reference. Thanks! I didn’t want to do laundry today, anyway.

  3. If you would follow the example of our FashionForwardFirstLady, you would wear blue shoes with your ‘lolita’ outfit. Or green. Or sequins.

    • Although, I guess she ALREADY HAS put this over on us, if the description of the key elements are to be believed:

      headwear (hair knob)
      blouse (backwards)
      bell-shaped skirt (no other kind will provide rump coverage)
      undergarment (visible Spanx line)
      legs (all 50″ of ’em, bare)
      footwear (crayon colored)

  4. So—at least 3 of us are spending Saturday on this. I do love a good internet chase. You do this to me fairly often. Thanks. Also, thanks for the LFDH link. that’s good for at least 45 minutes!

  5. My daughter has a “Sweet Lolita” outfit she bought in Japan. There are also “Gothic Lolitas”. They are worn for cosplay at anime conventions or worn in Tokyo for photos in Harajuku. Big fad among the Japanese and lovers of Japanese culture. Put Lolita in google images.

  6. Here’s the description provided for one of the outfits on that site:

    Lolita is a Japanese street fashion inspired primarily by the clothing and general aesthetics of the Rococo and Victorian periods. This fashion movement started in Japan in the 1980’s and has evolved greatly since. Nowadays Lolita Fashion has grown to be relatively popular all over the world. Relatively popular for an obscure Japanese street fashion, that is.

    I feel as though the Internet has taught me all I need to learn for today, so I will take a nap until time to go to work.

  7. Suzette..a red chunky, bangle bracelet, stacked w/one or two brown skinnier bangles (don’t let MAO’s chronic wrist stacking issues deter you)…and I love the purse!!!

    Me…I am scouring (well…not actually scouring as with cleanser or any sort of abrasive product) the intertubes looking for a knock off, Coach straw ‘boat shaped’ bag. The one with the white trim, and the silvery buckle thingy…

    Its good to have purpose in life!

    🙂

  8. How could you dangle such an awesome purse in front of a purse addict? Of course I had to follow the link and buy one myself. But I decided to go with the black version so that you wouldn’t think I was copying you!

Leave a Reply

