Cripes Suzette, Internet Dish Detective

I know it’s a busy week what with Christmas coming up and all, so you might not have time to look into this yourself. Not to worry – Cripes Suzette, Internet Dish Detective is here to help.

Perhaps you’ve heard that for the first time ever, an official line of commemorative china items is being created to mark the nuptials of Prince William and Kate Middleton. Blah blah blah … embellished with several layers of burnished gold and platinum … blah blah blah … profits from sales of the china will benefit … blah blah blah. The thing I’d like to draw your attention to is this part right here: the design also includes hearts, doves and ribbons. As seen in the photo below:

brand “new” china design

So far, so good. Overall, the design is a little fussy for me but that is not what has caught my eye about this. It’s those doves flitting about with golden rings in their mouths. Where have I seen this before?

Ah, yes – eBay! At the moment I happen to be on the lookout for vintage enameled bridal compacts from the 1950s. I haven’t found anything in good enough shape to make a bid on yet, but I do keep seeing the same design over and over. And here it is:

Elgin American Ladies Compact, c.1950. Imagine the girly world that this bride lived in.

I don’t know about you, but it seems mighty coincidental to me. The lazy sods who design special-project china for Stoke-On-Trent seem not to have bothered coming up with their own design but instead have rooted around in their mother’s keepsake drawers for inspiration.  I’m not one to make forecasts*, but this low level of effort doesn’t exactly doesn’t bode well for Kate and Wills.

I can’t get too worked up about it because I’m in the frame of mind where I think doves flying around carrying wedding rings are super sweet. But I did want you to know that even though I am very busy I still find time to attend to you, dear readers, by keeping you informed of exactly what is going on in the world of dish design.

* I gave up the forecasting when it turned out that I was wrong about Jerry Lewis’ imminent demise in 2003.

9 thoughts on “Cripes Suzette, Internet Dish Detective

  1. Whatever in the world would make you expect something original from British royal wedding commemorative china?

    Look at that sentence really hard. Doves carrying wedding rings, it is!

  2. Looking at the Elgin pattern, those are either the tiniest bluebirds evahh, or they’re not so much posing with rings as NESTS.

    Or maybe early frisbees.

    Frisbees would be better.

Leave a Reply

