Royal Wedding Fever

Who among us doesn’t like a good royal wedding? I’m just as much a fan of a royal wedding as the next guy.  In fact, I’ve been thinking about the royal wedding a lot lately:

Answer: One’s dead and one’s almost dead. That was bad. Sorry.

The royal wedding has inspired more wedding memorabilia than you can imagine. You think you can imagine, but you can’t imagine.

“Aside from beautiful designs, the floss in our kits is wound onto the bobbin and the bobbin is stamped with the corresponding DMC color number.”

I kind of want this. A lot. Even though it’s ridiculous. But that has never stopped me before. Bobbins, people, bobbins. Ask me how many unfinished/unopened counted cross stick kits I already have. No. Don’t ask me.

Paper dolls of Prince Charles and Princess Diana, along with replicas of their outfits for various official or informal occasions. Two dolls and 28 authentic costumes. For Charles: kilt, tuxedo, Navy dress uniform. For Diana: going away suit, floral crepe-de-Chine, hand-painted chiffon evening dress, spectacular wedding gown.

I was never a fan of Diana’s dress. It was a wrinkly, unflattering mess at first glimpse and history hasn’t improved it at all. But a paper doll version? I say yes.

WHITE WITH DELFT BLUE DETAILING STONEWARE. PICTURE ON SIDES. “FAMILY CRESTS”

There are royal wedding marriage mugs aplenty all over eBay but hardly any fit my criteria. Most are shiny dark blue and as you know, I cannot drink form a dark cup. White interiors only, please. The next most frequent offering have gold trim which renders them ineligible for the dishwasher. Almost all cups and mugs have a picture of Diana’s floppy commoner hairdo and that is a big no. This one fills my bill except for the insane price tag.

Hyperventilation alert! Time to get off eBay, Suzette.

O.M.G. Carlton Walking Ware. Do you know that at one time, I had a CWW teapot, sugar bowl, creamer and two cups? And they all had different sock patterns and shoe colors? And the sugar bowl sat on the end of a shelf with its legs crossed properly at the knee? Where is that stuff now? Probably long gone off to the Amvets rummage sale. I wish I had it back. Maybe it’s in a box in the basement? Lookatthisonehowcuteacurtsey…

Ok. I started this post to mock royal wedding memorabilia on eBay but I think it’s pretty obvious that I have become bewitched by my own past once again and found things that I think I positively need to buy.

Post over. I am stepping away from the computer for a while.

8 thoughts on “Royal Wedding Fever

  1. I have a Di and Charles key ring shaped like a flat wedding bell. I hang it on my Christmas tree. I can’t even imagine to that surgically tiny counted cross stitch portrait!

  2. I sense a theme in these posts. I fully expect a line of memorabilia from your own “Royal Wedding” within the parameters of good taste and sense you’ve outlined above.

  3. This month’s Vanity Fair has a great article on the betrothed couple.At least I think it’s this month, it’s the one with Cher on the cover, or rather the person who Used to Be Cher..This pic is photo shopped so much, her neck and waist look the same size..Anyway, the loving couple is already living together on an island off North Wales where is a helicopter rescue pilot..They’ve been pretty hot and heavy for years..Omg,
    the first Royals to have sex when not just for procreation purposes…I’m all atwitter…

    • I have the same phobia *or whatever it is.) I think it’s because there might be yucky things lurking in the dark.

Leave a Reply

