Important Thanskgiving Update

I’m very sorry to tell you that my Martha Stewart Double Raisin Pie has been banned from Thanksgiving once again by the haters. 5 couples, a Harvard Med intern  and an exchange student from China are coming together for a buffet so I don’t see what’s the harm in putting the pie on the table in case someone is not repulsed by it. But no. It is not to be.

The menu is  a Traditional 70s-era T-Day  with various ethnic additions. The menu will be composed of various individual contributions and,  as I understand it, it’s shaping up like this:

  • Turkey, catered
  • Stove Top stuffing
  • gravy from jars
  • green bean casserole (soup + canned onions)
  • sweet potato casserole with marshmallow topping
  • vegetarian lasagna
  • Pillsbury biscuits
  • some kind of green salad with orange slices in it
  • maybe a pie
  • kielbasi
  • pierogis
  • baklava

Now where’s my proposal for a replacement dish since my raisin pie artistry was thwarted: Chinese Tuna Casserole. This is an oddball version of your basic Tuna Wiggle, made Chinese(-ish) by the addition of LaChoy chow mien noodles , water chestnuts and “mandarin” orange slices. Stick with this, it’s really great tasting, if somewhat gloppy in appearance. It’s right up the alley of these green bean casserole lovers, and the orange slice salad people can’t complain about it, it would suit the vegetarians, and of course it’s Chinese (-ish). My offer to make this has been rejected, but only half-heartedly so I might just show up with this anyway. I think it’s a big winner.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of tuna
  • 1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onion
  • 1/2 cup finely sliced celery
  • 1 can water chestnuts, drained
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 cups chow mien noodles, divided
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1 cup canned Mandarin orange sections, drained

Directions:

Mix up the soup and water and add all the other ingredients, but save a few of the noodles for garnishing the top. Put in a baking dish you’ve buttered first. Put the remaining noodles on top and bake without a cover at 375 degrees for 20 or 30 minutes.

This is a very good dish that will leave them talking, one way or another, and you can see how it is destined to please everyone except the kielbasi people.

22 thoughts on “Important Thanskgiving Update

    • And it is glorious, too. Most raisin pie recipes have raisins suspended in the same kind of glop that pecans have to endure in pecan pies. This recipe is solid raisins, through and through. And I make a lovely realistic (except it’s made from dough) grapevine leaf, grape bunch and tendril to decorate the top.

  1. You gonna serve it in that green ashtray?

    Look –heres a variation on an old Simca Beck recipe that everyone will love even though it has raisins in it. And I made it super easy for you. Preheat the oven to 350 degreesGet a 10 inch French style removable bottom tart pan.line it with Pillsbury pie crust from the refrigerator case at the supermarket. Slather a couple Ts of apricot jam on the crust.Grate 2 Granny Smith apples and squeeze 1 T of lemon juice on them.
    Mix 4 egg yolks with 1/2 cup of sugar and a pinch of salt until the sugar has dissolved. Stir in 1/3 cup raisins and a pinch of cinnamon. Pour into the shell Bake for 20 minutes.
    Remove tart..poke holes all over the surface. Pour 4 T of melted butter over the top and return to the over for 20 more minutes of baking.

    Take tart out of oven. Place on rack. Serve tepid .

    Everyone will love it. I promise you.

    • I’ve been trying and trying to think of the name of a French woman who had a PBS cooking show back in the 70s. She was much more calming and knowing than Julia Child. thanks to this prompt from you, I used my Google Fu to track her down – Madeleine Kammen. I had been searching for a “Simone” and only just realized that the Simone name that I remembered was JC’s co-author.

  2. I also forgot to tell you to add 1/2 cup of almond flour (finely grated almonds which you can do in your food processor if your store doesn’t have almond flour) into the batter, too.

    (I’m highly medicated tonight , Suzette..Sorry.)

    • Ha, Clarice!!! Nice to find a soul mate who is addled – and I’m not even over-medicated. Just trying to do too many things at once with a stroke-recovering husband, so things are “getting away”.

      Cleaning the fridge for the first time in (deleted) months, I found a brand new bag of Trader Joe’s almond flour or whatever. Now I can back it into this tart, which does sound good.

      Thanks!

  3. I feel slightly chagrined that I voted against your raisin pie. But, I’m sure you didn’t give my vote any weight. You didn’t did you? Of course, you didn’t. Anyone who can so skillfully storm the net with her Mrs. O crotch analysis wouldn’t be swayed by such triviality. I’ve seen it everywhere! Great work.

  4. If I make Chinese Tuna Wiggle, I’ll send you a picture of it.
    And I wish I could have Thanksgiving dinner at your house, it sounds sooooooooooo yum. But I have to work that day. YES! On Thanksgiving Day, can you believe it?
    Like the Cardhole has stuff people need on Thanksgiving? Gah.

    • I am a guest at this dinner. A guest who will be carting about 5 prepared dishes, two folding tables, 4 chairs and 6 big spoons to this affair.

      It’s grim that you have to work on TDay. do you at least get Black Friday off?

  5. You could change the canned tuna to canned chicken (could be considered a small turkey???) for the haters. Then it could be a truly international dish with the LaChoy noodles.

  6. My dh and my late mother Loved mincemeat pie…Ick ! But what can you say about the same and only two in the family who also Loved fruitcake ? Even the kind from convenience stores ? Maybe it’s a genetic flaw. No wonder they bonded from the beginning, well that, and maybe dh’s fabulous martini’s..
    Anyway..Mom brought the mincemeat pie, they enjoyed it, and the rest of us feasted on Barefoot Contessa’s fabulous cheesecake, and Sara Moulton’s French Apple Tart.
    I would bring the raisin pie anyway..and enjoy it all by myself..so there.!
    ps..Sara’s tart is easier than the one described above, imo..althoughh the one above may be better..sometimes easier is what matters..jus’ sayin’

  7. What?!! No pumpkin pie? that’s almost unAmerican and downright hateful.
    Pierogis are no substitute for mashed white potatoes. The only Thanksgiving the Polish people celebrate is the day their ancestors arrived at Ellis Island.

  8. Mine couldn’t be easier and it really is good. Try it..I simplified it from the original. It looks fabulous and is soooooooo yummy.

  9. That’s a lot of dishes. Are you sure you have enough big spoons?

    As for the raisin pie, my MIL usually parades these out in surprise fashion at random family dinners. I politely decline, but the majority of my kids like it. How weird is that?

  10. hmm. i think you outta give Mrs. K. ‘s pineapple squares. now THERE”S a dessert..
    *(just don’t set your purse on fire).. inside joke.

Leave a Reply

