Amidst the Blooms

Three things happened today that made me think that it was warm enough to sit on the deck after work tonight:

  • The last person I saw before I left work came back into the building after a smoke break and said “You know, I think it’s nicer out there now that it’s been all day long.”  Now that I think about it, he was wearing a puffy winter coat.
  • The Shrub Truck must have come through NJ today because all of the nurseries and garden stands that I passed on the way home suddenly had yards full of shrubs and bushes.
  • When I got home, Sami was already parked in front of the TV enjoying the hell out of the evening news.

Turns out it was more spring-like than spring. Although the evening news these days can drive me out of the house in any weather. When I got home, it took me 10 minutes flat to throw off the corporate wardrobe and assemble the martini ingredients on a tray. I guess when I had to put on a fleece jacket and zip it up to my neck , that would have been the time to give up on the idea. Or maybe when my nose and forehead went numb.

But I stuck it out. Who knows – next week they might socialize the gin so I’m taking it while I can still get it.

8 thoughts on “Amidst the Blooms

  1. That’s a racist right wing lie!

    Let me be clear. Our Plan™ will allow you to breathe as you’ve always breathed; if you like your breath, you can keep your breath.

    In fact, contrary to what those tea-bagging neanderthals would have you believe, we require it, as we simply, in the sake of fairness to those voters of ours who happen for some reason not to be living, put reasonable restrictions on exhaling.

  2. Here in Outer Sprawlburbia it is “Pride In Our Parks Day”, the planners having ignored the inconstant Springiness of March in this area. As a result I will be dressed for winter whilst giving my presentation at the park of my choice.

    (I of course chose the newest park, the one with my name on a plaque on a big boulder. Heh.)

    Did I mention I have bronchitis?

    • I have evaluated the elements of your comment. Conclusion: Boulder trumps bronchitis.

      Here in Outer Sprawlburbia(-3) it is “Pride In Our Parks Day”(-2) , the planners having ignored the inconstant Springiness of March in this area (-2) . As a result I will be dressed for winter (+1)whilst giving my presentation( ~) at the park of my choice(+1) .

      (I of course chose the newest park(+1) , the one with my name on a plaque on a big boulder(+15) . Heh.)

      Did I mention I have bronchitis?(-3)

      Final score +8.

Leave a Reply

