If I Have To Have My Martinis Named After A Person, I’d Much Prefer To Have Them Named For Somebody Interesting Like “The Fabulous Moolah” or “The Ish Kabibble”

Just this weekend over some a nice homestyle breakfast, I said to my friend that I try to eat in a single local-owned restaurant as often as possible. And that was BEFORE these two stories hit the media:

The McGreeveys (McSchkeevies). Lordy lordy. As Jim so cleverly puts it, New Jersey has just snatched back the title of “Slimiest Governor”, raising the stakes on NY gov Eliot Spitzer’s 5K call girl escapades by 33%. The McGreeveys, it seems, developed a charming practice of Friday Night Specials which ended with a menage a trois but started with a visit to TGIFriday’s. TGIFridays! Listen, when I was single and dating, if anyone tried to take me to TGIFriday’s, that was an atutomatic mood killer, Loaded Baked Potato Skins notwithstanding. Talk about bad judgement – between teh unqualified gay boyfriends in high profile jobs, the get-married-and-have-a-baby move and this, that Jimmy Mac couldn’t pick a winner if it was inside his own nose.

As if that was not enough to turn you off of corporate chain restaurants forever, there’s news of an even more gross nature about my beloved Houlihan’s, the scene of the Thursday Night Martini Club. In a mighty clash of Things I Love vs. Things I Hate, I shudder to think which will be triumphant. From our department of Things I Vowed I’d Never Blog About comes this discussion of Sex and The City: it never fails to amaze me that the TV show is so vapid. If it wasn’t for the sex part, there’s be no audience at all. All those shoes, all that “fashion”, all the cocktails and the cigarettes and the parties – nothing. So if the newspaper column was boring, and the TV show was vapid, this summer’s movie is going to be downright vacant.

There is one interesting aspect to it and that is the blatant product placement that riddles the movie. Mostly, * yawn *, except for Bag Borrow or Steal – designer handbag rental – you’ve gotta love that! Or you would, if it was anything good like Tod or Hermes, but don’t get excited – it’s crappy low end Coach and Louis Viutton. But here’s the horrifying thing:

“…Skyy vodka, which is being named the “official spirits sponsor” for the movie. Among the tie-ins are drinks made with Skyy to be served at Houlihan’s restaurants and named after characters like Carrie, Samantha and Mr. Big . (* gag *)

The partner brands are included in the film in ways that range from mentions in lines of dialogue to numerous appearances on screen. In exchange, the owners of the brands will help publicize the movie with commercials, posters, sweepstakes, viewing parties, events in stores, contests, ticket giveaways and even products with labels inspired by “Sex and the City.”

God help me but I will never attend a SATC viewing party even if I’m sitting inside Houlihan’s on Thursday night and I’ll be damned if I’m ever going to ask for a Mr. Big On The Beach.

4 thoughts on “If I Have To Have My Martinis Named After A Person, I’d Much Prefer To Have Them Named For Somebody Interesting Like “The Fabulous Moolah” or “The Ish Kabibble”

  1. Mom didn’t have much use for Sex in the City. She called it the future bag ladies of America talkin’ dirty for no good reason at all. She said that when she hung out with her gal pals they never stooped to behave like that.
    And that’s just the part I can repeat in polite company.
    RE: Houlihan’s and Friday’s – need we look any further than the movie Office Space to really understand them?
    No we do not.

  2. There’s going to be a movie??? *sigh* I am soooo out of touch. But I have to wonder why… It’s not like there was enough to the show itself to support a movie. Guess I’m wrong about that. Heh.

  3. I was a big Friday’s-goer when they had sugar-free cheesecake, especially for dates, because I have a theory that men find women who eat dessert sexy. I hope you can forgive me.

  4. I confess a lot of things here and ask for forgiveness. I wonder what that means? I take it back – I unapologetically went to Friday’s for dates! Hah!

Leave a Reply

