Containers


94725_MBaby containers. I did a lot of driving over the weekend in fog, drizzle and rain. And everyplace I went,  at least twice a day, I saw babies being pushed around in strollers that were encased in a clear plastic shield. While I’m all for kids on leashes, I’m not sure about the plastic bubble thing. While all of the babies that I saw this weekend were just sitting thee doing their placid baby thing, I can’t help wondering if they’ll grow up with unexplained fear of being walled off in a place they can’t escape from.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found this picture of my actual strawberry pot on an older version of this blog. It must have been Day One after potting since my recollection is that some hen n chicks died off and others zoomed upwards in a rudely phallic and unattractive manner.

Plant containers. (Cabin fever alert, exhibited as talking about gardening.) I have two lovely terra cotta strawberry pots. When I first got them, I actually tried to grow strawberries in them – I got about 4 edible  berries over the course of three years. So I moved onto herbs, portulaca and begonias each with their own miserable result. Despite the fact that everything I attempt lately ends up as crap and I was never successful with these pots even back when I was good, I’m thinking about resurrecting the pots and trying it again.

Maybe i’ll try cactus this time.

No. Really I have this vision of filling all the openings with red begonias and placing it on a block right in the flower bed. Or maybe in an assortment of impatiens and putting it at the back end of the bed where tree roots insist on ruining everything.

I tired googling “flowers in strawberry pots” or what to plant in strawberry pots” and I get generic returns that say Don’t limit your strawberry pots to just strawberries! You can plant herbs, annual flowers or succulents!” Obviously, this is advice from people who are paid to produce words and haven’t ever actually tried to grow anything in a strawberry pot.

So I don’t know. I know its the winter blues taking but IF YOU FAIL TO PLAN THAN YOU PLAN TO FAIL and I already have enough fail garden-wise than I can handle.

8 thoughts on “Containers

  1. Madame, don’t know how much sun your hen and chicks received, but they prefer shade sometimes and not a lot of water. Or that is my experience. If the rosemary thrived in the planter, add other herbs (which are pretty hardy and can withstand my ignoring them. I tend to take out my moods on plants at times, and it is feast or famine).

    ~Thus speaketh the granddaughter of a garden club queen, who specialized in iris and daylilies. Her genes shine through in spring, like my other grandmother’s dressmaking skills (great Southern ladies, I might add). She could have competed with Coco Chanel, as I have never met anyone as skilled as she was with a needle and thread. As her only granddaughter, she sewed my wardrobe, seasonally, from birth through college (as well as her own and daughter’s suits and clothes). I would do anything to have her patterns, which were given away at the estate sale—and, trust me, the history of my family was in that house and patterns were the last thing I was thinking of. They never threw anything away. This grandmother was also a fabulous cook and loved Julia Child’s show and I have a few of her cookbooks. I miss them so much.

    Example of the genetic hauntings: This past weekend, wandering into Joann’s with coupons (which are often worthless as everything is on sale), looking for calligraphy pens to start my “travel diaries” in Moleskine journals (I think I have multiple crafts personalities), I bought 6 yards of French (it said made in France!) blended wool herringbone (lavender/cream) to make a suit for next winter. It was on clearance with 50% off clearance price at $5/yard. Place your bets if it gets done in the next decade…or, until presser foot of grandmother’s Singer is repaired. I am thinking I will tackle this in the summer, after my one million photo albums are redone.[Stop laughing]

    I think their genes, rising like a yeast loaf in seasons of memories, may explain my many, many unfinished projects (needlepoint, cross-stitch, knitting, etc). I am now pouring over sewing couture books. Go figure.

  2. WTH are people thinking walking around in weather so bad they have to shrinkwrap their babies? Is the stroller-pusher encased in plastic, too?

  3. I had a small strawberry pot with hens and biddies in it, living in Idaho. Those plants survived outside all year, even in the snow. I don’t know why, as they probably only got watered when it rained. But thrive they did. As for the plants bolting; nip them in the bud just as they start to bolt. That makes them grow new babies, instead of going to seed. This works pretty much with every kind of plant. Or so my experience tells me.

  4. Pingback: So This Is Happening | Cripes Suzette

  5. Pingback: Weekend Activity Update | Cripes Suzette

Leave a Reply

