Regret

So here it is Saturday night and I’m filled with regret about what I should’ve done today.

I should’ve put up the tree – a different tree, a smaller one that we had in the basement. The replacement parts for the tree we had planned to put up will be here until Tuesday at the earliest. That’s December 18 – What’s the point then, really?

I should have made more than one batch of cookies. Did I mention that I’m losing it? You should see these things that are supposed to be Italian sesame cookies. You wouldn’t recognize them.

I should’ve cleaned more. I should’ve put the Christmas things in the downstairs bathroom. I should’ve done more prep work on the stuffed shells that I’ll be serving tomorrow.

There’s a double birthday celebration in the house tomorrow – my son and my husband. Imagine that – fancy hors d’oeuvres, delectable dinner served on my beloved Stangl, the goldplated flatware, the best Christmas tablecloth.

Maybe I’ll wake up early tomorrow and pull out the bucket to wash away the dog footprints on the kitchen floor. Maybe I’ll make those pineapple nut drops after all. Maybe I’ll climb two steps on the utility stool so I can clean the mirrors in the dining room.

Maybe I won’t.

I wish I could be the kind of person that doesn’t care about this stuff. But I’m the kind of person that does care but also doesn’t care enough to actually do it.

It’s a real problem.

5 thoughts on “Regret

  1. First of all, there are plenty of people who actually put up their tree on Christmas Eve… on purpose!! as part of their tradition! embrace it. :) but, ugh… the December “should’ve” list…. I can totally relate! I do have my tree up, but the rest of the stuff is sitting in various piles and boxes waiting to be “placed” and “arranged”… My daughter’s birthday is this week as well, and for some reason, even after all these years (you’d think I’d be used to it by now!!) I can’t completely focus on Christmas until after her birthday. And then, OMG! I have under a week!!! yikes!!! yup. every year. in varying manifestations. And yet, every year we manage to enjoy the season and it all gets done in the end. well… except for that one year that I didn’t do a tree at all…. oops. I hadn’t heard about those Christmas Eve Tree people yet. Merry Christmas!

    • That’s some good advice. Relax, enjoy. All most people remember are the laughs shared, the family stories retold and the good company.
      There was the year I dropped the turkey on the floor and it broke apart; I was shocked and dismayed until my dear Aunt came to my rescue; she picked up the pieces, washed them off at the sink and said “well, it seems to be done”. We laughed, cut what we could into serving pieces and nobody noticed anything. We didn’t tell the story until the next year.
      Then one year, the drunken neighbor fell into the tree so we spent Christmas day taking DOWN the tree.
      Have fun, enjoy your family.

  2. You have described almost the exact direction my Christmas has taken this year. We’ll have our 2 and 4 year old grandsons, and their parents here this year for Christmas. I’m both happy and weary. All of this was less stressful when I was younger in spite of having twice as much to do then. Getting old is not for the faint of heart.

  3. My goal this year is to not feel as tho “I’ve survived!!!” the holidays. I want to enjoy them, celebrate them, live them. So far we have no tree. I think I will make it some kind of a party to put it up and decorate… yeah, maybe that’ll work… You are doing great and have it much more under control than you think. PEACE, relax, enjoy.

Leave a Reply

